1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Will my bed outlet power this?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by jackrules, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:28 PM
    #1
    jackrules

    jackrules [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38678
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport LB
  2. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:31 PM
    #2
    jackrules

    jackrules [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38678
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport LB
  3. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:32 PM
    #3
    ktmrider

    ktmrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19933
    Messages:
    4,969
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    it lets you pull 3.4 amps so yeah the second one would work better if the first one worked at all.
     
  4. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:38 PM
    #4
    paintdiddy

    paintdiddy Machine gun shits

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9924
    Messages:
    10,307
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    shithead
    nj and not from "the jersey shore"
    Vehicle:
    silver bullet
    Mine wouldn't work my 2.5 gallon craftsman pancake compressor
     
  5. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:39 PM
    #5
    crf69

    crf69 scraping my emblems off my plasti-dip

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Member:
    #37348
    Messages:
    3,558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR BSP cab'n 1/2
    ummm yeah
    3.4 amps? good to know haha i havent even used the damn thing yet
     
  6. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:41 PM
    #6
    paintdiddy

    paintdiddy Machine gun shits

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9924
    Messages:
    10,307
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    shithead
    nj and not from "the jersey shore"
    Vehicle:
    silver bullet
    I think the plug is useless unless you want to charge a phone,laptop,or flashlight
     
  7. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:42 PM
    #7
    jackrules

    jackrules [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38678
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport LB
    i'd try and see, but i'm making my decision on what to use.... my air compressor thing (doesn't use tank) filled 2 of my tires and then the truck shut it off for safety...

    with my calculations, the 6gal compressor will pull just under 1200 watts and the 3gal will pull 312 watts... so that compressor would work assuming the button on the dash that says 400watts really is 400 watts at the inverter...

    so do you think a 3 gallon tank one will fill my truck's tires?
     
  8. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:46 PM
    #8
    ecoterragaia

    ecoterragaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Member:
    #49786
    Messages:
    1,194
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    '06 RC, 4X4, 5 speed
    Assuming that you're referring to the built-in 400W inverter, no, the compressor would pop the fuse on the inverter pretty quick.

    Volts X Amps. = Watts

    120V X 9.7 amps. = 1164 watts

    You'd have to find a 120V compressor that draws less than 3.3 amps for the stock inverter to work. Sorry man. There are plenty of 12V compressors out there though, and Harbor Freight also has a wide selection of high power inverters that could be used with the proper wire gauge size. Keep looking, good luck!!

    Edit: Oops, apparently several people posted in the time it took me to write mine, sorry for posting the obvious now!
     
  9. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:49 PM
    #9
    jackrules

    jackrules [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38678
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport LB
    are the 12v compressors good enough to fill a tank or fill a tire constant duty?
     
  10. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:50 PM
    #10
    crf69

    crf69 scraping my emblems off my plasti-dip

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Member:
    #37348
    Messages:
    3,558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR BSP cab'n 1/2
    ummm yeah
    ok im going out to check it with my multimeter...........
     
  11. Mar 27, 2011 at 3:53 PM
    #11
    jackrules

    jackrules [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38678
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport LB
    i'm thankful for all replies, so thanks!
     
  12. Mar 27, 2011 at 4:08 PM
    #12
    Sandhopper

    Sandhopper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Member:
    #49161
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
  13. Mar 27, 2011 at 4:10 PM
    #13
    xodeuce

    xodeuce mmmmmmbourbon.

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Member:
    #24427
    Messages:
    1,395
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2004 UZJ100
    In all seriousness, unless you want to use the thing in a home / shop setting, I'd stick to a 12v unit. You'll have no problem airing up tires with one of the basic 12v compressors, a 3-5 gal tank, and some plumbing to get it all set up. I can't remember the model, but there's a 12v one that's like $75 that is really popular with on board air (OBA) setups.

    This isn't the $75 one, but it's everything you need for a total OBA setup, minus the fittings and hose and all.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/PUMA-12-VOLT-1-...460?pt=BI_Air_Compressors&hash=item41574dac7c
     
  14. Mar 27, 2011 at 4:23 PM
    #14
    pudge151

    pudge151 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Member:
    #34558
    Messages:
    3,397
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Platinum
    the motors on those do not work with our bed outlets, i have tried, it wont kick into the second stage
     
  15. Mar 27, 2011 at 4:24 PM
    #15
    VirginiaBound

    VirginiaBound Whyareyoureadingthis?

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18755
    Messages:
    7,332
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam I am, green eggs and ham
    North of Maine, South of Spain
    Have you considered buying an air tank that you can fill at the house and take with you? Thats what we use at Obx, just air down before you get out on the sand and air up with the tank when you leave.
     
  16. Mar 27, 2011 at 5:01 PM
    #16
    MrFastLayne

    MrFastLayne Mr SGA

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Member:
    #47182
    Messages:
    390
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Layne
    Lincoln Ca,
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma 4x4 SR5 V6 Off Road
    Lift,Winch,Shell,Light Bar,Siren,Radio's
  17. Mar 27, 2011 at 5:02 PM
    #17
    MrFastLayne

    MrFastLayne Mr SGA

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Member:
    #47182
    Messages:
    390
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Layne
    Lincoln Ca,
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma 4x4 SR5 V6 Off Road
    Lift,Winch,Shell,Light Bar,Siren,Radio's
  18. Mar 27, 2011 at 5:13 PM
    #18
    jackrules

    jackrules [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38678
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport LB
  19. Mar 27, 2011 at 5:15 PM
    #19
    ktmrider

    ktmrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19933
    Messages:
    4,969
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    I was thinking the same as you but I got creative and made a really sleek out of the way OBA.


     
  20. Mar 27, 2011 at 5:22 PM
    #20
    jackrules

    jackrules [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38678
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport LB
    how fail proof is your system?

    cuz my brother and my dad aren't very mechanical, and like if their using it I would want it to be so that they couldn't blow up the tank on accident or something if they leave the compressor running....

    all these "all in one systems" seem like they shut off once they hit max tank psi
     
To Top