1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Will TPMS need to be reprogrammed going from 16s to 17s?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by josef, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. Feb 3, 2012 at 10:32 AM
    #1
    josef

    josef [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70977
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DoubleCab
    So i'm upgrading from 16" SR5 port-installed wheels (which actually have the steels sensors) to 17" TRD Sport wheels. I am going to either rotate the sensors or use straps to get my sensors to work with the 17" Alloys. But will I still have to make a trip to the dealer b/c of the change in wheel size? I wouldn't think so but I've gotten some conflicting info.. Thanks
     
  2. Feb 3, 2012 at 10:33 AM
    #2
    Rusty 06 4x4

    Rusty 06 4x4 NBHNC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Member:
    #64142
    Messages:
    2,191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rusty
    West Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2006 4x4 Tacoma TRD DCSB
    no it goes off pressure dude
     
  3. Feb 3, 2012 at 10:35 AM
    #3
    josef

    josef [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70977
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DoubleCab
    aight. thanks fellas. that's what i thought.
     
  4. Feb 3, 2012 at 10:41 AM
    #4
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Nope, pressure is pressure. I went from a 16" wheel to a 17" wheel, no issues, just hit the TPMS reset button.
     
  5. Feb 3, 2012 at 12:15 PM
    #5
    josef

    josef [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70977
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DoubleCab
    thanks Pugga.. i was looking for someone who actually went through this. i work at a collision repair shop and i know how much of a pain these things can be to deal with.. just hoping i can avoid it on mine. Looks like I should be good to go.
     
  6. Feb 3, 2012 at 12:23 PM
    #6
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I went from tje 16" Baja alloy to the 17" TRD Sport wheels though, I didn't have to deal with the sensor angle issue going from the steel wheel to the alloy. Functionally, it was a seamless swap as far as the sensors are concerned.
     
To Top