1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wiring assistance.

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by OdiN1701, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. Jun 5, 2017 at 12:02 PM
    #1
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    I need to tap into an in-cab wire that receives constant power only when accessory or ignition is on. I am going to install a compressor and while I found the wire I can tie into for dash lights for the switch, I need one that I can tap to trip the relay. Anyone know a good wire around the switches on the lower left drivers side?
     
  2. Jun 5, 2017 at 12:18 PM
    #2
    over60

    over60 Over70 & still a "Grumpy Old Guy"

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44995
    Messages:
    4,805
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Muskoka, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno (Punkin) TRD 4X4 Sport DCLB w/upgrade & tech pkg..!!
    Toyota running boards/Solid Fold 2.0/custom stickers/Anti-Dark LED light under hood/Derped grill/Scoop, etc.
    Using a compressor, you draw a lot of power, so I'd want to tap into the fuse box with a "fuse tap". The dash light fuse would likely not handle the compressor.

    https://www.amazon.com/ABN-Circuit-Blade-Profile-Adapter/dp/B01BU59QA8/ref=sr_1_10?i=e=UTF8&qid=1496689834&sr=8-10&keywords=fuse+tap

    Use a tester and find a fuse that is "hot" with ACC on..

    ...Make sure you use one with a higher amperage.....How much does your compressor draw..??

    I think the correct one would be the one for the lighter plug in the cab....It can handle the draw.

    I forget how it is labeled in the fuse box.... Found this ....

    This is the one...


    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/dash-cam-fuse-box-tap-2016-tacoma.480809/
     
  3. Jun 5, 2017 at 12:21 PM
    #3
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    It's not drawing power through the switch. It's only to power a relay and the compressor would draw straight from the battery.

    I don't like fuse taps. I am looking for a low voltage wire to tap specifically to run a relay.
     
    over60 likes this.
  4. Jun 5, 2017 at 12:40 PM
    #4
    over60

    over60 Over70 & still a "Grumpy Old Guy"

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44995
    Messages:
    4,805
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Muskoka, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno (Punkin) TRD 4X4 Sport DCLB w/upgrade & tech pkg..!!
    Toyota running boards/Solid Fold 2.0/custom stickers/Anti-Dark LED light under hood/Derped grill/Scoop, etc.
    OK, I'm not sure what you are talking about.... maybe someone else will help ya out.... Good luck.
     
  5. Jun 5, 2017 at 12:47 PM
    #5
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    A relay is basically just a switch that will live in the engine compartment. It's triggered by applying low voltage to close a circuit which will supply the actual power to the device you are running. By using a relay to run a compressor which can pull up to 50A, you keep that high powered electrical line inside the engine compartment rather than running something like that into the cab. Fuses are supposed to stop fires from happening, but I don't add in any high power lines in the cab just for safety. Also, I doubt the switch could handle 50A.

    So I just need a lower powered wire to tie into that is normally hot when accessory/ignition is on. The cig lighter one would be an option, but I need the actual wire. I don't like fuse taps for how they fit and block other fuses, etc.
     
    over60 and steele-taco like this.
  6. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:07 PM
    #6
    Freetime

    Freetime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Member:
    #181426
    Messages:
    667
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR AC 4x4 Quicksand
    In to see this answer. I need the same thing to connect some relays for stuff I'm installing now.
     
  7. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:09 PM
    #7
    uhplifted

    uhplifted The Hopfather

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Member:
    #190174
    Messages:
    25,203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Vehicle:
    16 DCLB OR
    Just do this. It's the easiest way. I have my ARB compressor hooked up that way...
     
  8. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:10 PM
    #8
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    Just because something is easy doesn't mean it's the right way. I'm not going to use a fuse tap.
     
    Freetime likes this.
  9. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:11 PM
    #9
    over60

    over60 Over70 & still a "Grumpy Old Guy"

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44995
    Messages:
    4,805
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Muskoka, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno (Punkin) TRD 4X4 Sport DCLB w/upgrade & tech pkg..!!
    Toyota running boards/Solid Fold 2.0/custom stickers/Anti-Dark LED light under hood/Derped grill/Scoop, etc.
    Why not just pull the cig. lighter out of dash and connect your line there..??
     
  10. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:12 PM
    #10
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    That's a fair distance from the switch. There must be a wire near by that meets what I need. Apparently I need a wiring diagram.
     
  11. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:14 PM
    #11
    uhplifted

    uhplifted The Hopfather

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Member:
    #190174
    Messages:
    25,203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Vehicle:
    16 DCLB OR
    I don't see how it's the wrong way? ARB instructions tell you to use the fuse. Just pull the fuse out, wrap the wire on it, plug it back in. Seems like you want to do more work than what's necessary.
    If you don't want to do that pull up a wiring diagram and find the proper wire to splice in to...
     
  12. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:16 PM
    #12
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    I don't have a wiring diagram, hence why I'm looking on here and asking.

    Pulling out a fuse and wrapping wire on it? That's just dumb.

    I want to install the wiring properly and cleanly.
     
  13. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:21 PM
    #13
    uhplifted

    uhplifted The Hopfather

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Member:
    #190174
    Messages:
    25,203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Vehicle:
    16 DCLB OR
    So search this site for one or use google. I promise it's out there.

    I still am failing to see how you think connecting to a fuse is improper and dumb, but to each his own I guess. Good luck with your search
     
    over60 likes this.
  14. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:26 PM
    #14
    angrysam

    angrysam Huh?

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Member:
    #48754
    Messages:
    1,844
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Somebody's Shit List
    Vehicle:
    2.9 Gen- Not a cunt.
    Fleshlight and an old Farrah Fawcett poster.
    In all of the connectors under the driver's kick panel you will see a 4 pin connector. It has like 10 or 12 gauge wire in it. The red one is constant.

    Personally I'd run it through the firewall and directly to the battery. That compressor pulls a lot of amps plus what is already on the circuit. Your choice/your choice though.
     
  15. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:27 PM
    #15
    daddy_o

    daddy_o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Member:
    #168380
    Messages:
    5,477
    Bossier City, La
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD Sport, Inferno, w/tech package
    Factory Blackout package, Soft roll up bed cover, Cheap seat covers, Front and rear dash cam, AVS in channel vent visors
    I can´t tell you which wire you need, but I can tell you this,
    The add a circuit mentioned in post 2 is probably your best and safest bet.
    Reason being, it sounds like you are wanting to splice into factory wiring, which could bite you in the rear should you have an electrical issue under warranty. A splice in the factory wiring is a quick way for a dealer to deny warranty claims.
    Also, the add a circuit is easily reversible should you need to remove this set up for whatever reason.
     
    over60 and uhplifted like this.
  16. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:28 PM
    #16
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    Wrapping bare wire around a fuse is what is dumb.

    Looking at the compressor wiring diagram, it looks like there must be an internal relay/switch as they don't mention that.
     
  17. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:29 PM
    #17
    uhplifted

    uhplifted The Hopfather

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Member:
    #190174
    Messages:
    25,203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Vehicle:
    16 DCLB OR
    What compressor are you using? Did it come with a wire harness or are you running your own wire?
     
  18. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:32 PM
    #18
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
    The compressor will be in the engine bay, the power for the compressor will run directly to the battery and that is where the large amp draw should be. Not through a switch in the dash.
     
  19. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:33 PM
    #19
    OdiN1701

    OdiN1701 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Member:
    #210998
    Messages:
    1,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Quicksand TRD OR DC SB
  20. Jun 5, 2017 at 1:38 PM
    #20
    Cold_Toad

    Cold_Toad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Member:
    #201446
    Messages:
    589
    Gender:
    Male
    So you are trying to wire in the compressor without actually having the compressor or the wiring harness yet?
     
To Top