1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wiring question for alpine hu on JBL system

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Paco3010, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. Jan 21, 2013 at 5:14 PM
    #1
    Paco3010

    Paco3010 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94451
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Hanover PA
    Vehicle:
    12' TRD Sport DCSB 4x4 stock (for now)
    I'm installing an Alpine Double din HU to my JBL system (2012 double cab). After adding the PAC wiring harness for the JBL system, my buddy doing the install says either something is missing on the harness or we have to splice all the wires (speakers) etc.. Sonic Electronics upon ordering said it was an easy install and basically plug and play. This weekend when I called the customer service guy wasn't sure and has to get back to me...so, do we have to splice the wires or did we drink too much beer and overlooked something? Btw, my buddy hooked up my old system and did a good job. But, according to him he is "old school", and not used to this high tech stuff...as for me, don't know jack about wiring! Thanks guys!
     
  2. Jan 22, 2013 at 1:24 PM
    #2
    kevinsc

    kevinsc 2012 dbl cab 4x4

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Member:
    #87202
    Messages:
    810
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    kevin
    columbia, south carolina
    Vehicle:
    12 4x4 dbl cab
    chrome on front painted to match, satoshi grill done by myself, BHLM, billys all the way around with ome springs upfront and LR ucas with wheelers 3 leaf progressive pack in the rear, mb gunner wheels powdercoated black on 285/75r16 nitto trail grapplers, tinted all the way around and on windshield, pioneer dbl din touch screen with two 10's behing the seat and new speakers all the way around and certain interior parts painted to match, also have a road wire leather kit black with red stitching sitting here waiting for me to find time to install it!
    is there any sound at all?
     
  3. Jan 23, 2013 at 6:11 AM
    #3
    Paco3010

    Paco3010 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94451
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Hanover PA
    Vehicle:
    12' TRD Sport DCSB 4x4 stock (for now)
    Thanks Kevin...we are still in the process of connecting wires etc.. We only had limited time to work on it saturday. I will post some pics this evening to show our dilema and where we're at. If you could check back and give some input i would GREATLY appreciate it!!
     
  4. Jan 23, 2013 at 6:39 AM
    #4
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    3,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    '07 FJ
    If you got the correct wiring harness you shouldn't have to cut anything. I wouldn't cut my factory wiring for just a HU install.
     
  5. Jan 23, 2013 at 6:42 AM
    #5
    kevinsc

    kevinsc 2012 dbl cab 4x4

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Member:
    #87202
    Messages:
    810
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    kevin
    columbia, south carolina
    Vehicle:
    12 4x4 dbl cab
    chrome on front painted to match, satoshi grill done by myself, BHLM, billys all the way around with ome springs upfront and LR ucas with wheelers 3 leaf progressive pack in the rear, mb gunner wheels powdercoated black on 285/75r16 nitto trail grapplers, tinted all the way around and on windshield, pioneer dbl din touch screen with two 10's behing the seat and new speakers all the way around and certain interior parts painted to match, also have a road wire leather kit black with red stitching sitting here waiting for me to find time to install it!
    ^^ you shouldt cut anything.. make sure you have the blue amp turn on wire hooked up from the radio to the pac interface otherwise the jbl amp will not cut on and you will not get any sound..
     
  6. Jan 26, 2013 at 3:58 PM
    #6
    Paco3010

    Paco3010 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Member:
    #94451
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Hanover PA
    Vehicle:
    12' TRD Sport DCSB 4x4 stock (for now)
    Ok, had another guy look at my set up, and he also said there is no plug for power to the head unit. The PAC Tato wiring harness is for the Toyota with JBL, so it says, so either they sent the wrong wiring harness or the Alpine I'VE-W535HD is not adaptable to this set up....thoughts??
     
To Top