1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Work trip advice

Discussion in 'Jobs & Careers' started by AZ_J, Sep 7, 2021.

1. Sep 7, 2021 at 11:00 AM
    AZ_J

AZ_J [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB
    265/75r16, sliders, softopper, roof rack
    So,

I am a structural engineer (Engineer-In-Training). I was asked by my company to go to an out of state project location (AZ->Idaho) to help out concrete construction as they laid off a bunch of our Construction Management group at the start of covid. I said yes as a good show of faith, its only 4 months, they have paid for housing meals, gas... everything except toiletries and alcohol.

Here in lies my dilemma. I agreed to 4 months only (Mid June-Mid Oct.), because come mid-october the winter storms will start rolling in and our project site is ~45 miles in on a nasty FS road. And we won't have a personell work camp here till December, thanks Idaho Government for forcing a new camp to be manufactured in Idaho instead of repurposing one from Montana that was already made and sitting in laydown yard in some lot.

I am now being asked to stay on for the duration of the project, could be until March of next year, but with the way things are moving so slow here, I bet that will get extended to.

I absolutely am going to say no to extending what was an act of good faith because my relationship with friends, family, and SO is suffering.