1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Write-Up: Torque APP OBD2 Reader

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by BrokenTusk, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. Jun 19, 2013 at 7:17 AM
    #321
    xaqori

    xaqori I need gas money

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Member:
    #80410
    Messages:
    1,773
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Marietta, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    '06 4x4 Limo
    ARB lockers and 4.88s front and rear, OME 886s, Dakars, etc., Safari Snorkel, 17"Fuel Revolvers w/ 35x12.50r17 KM2s, fenders cut 3" all around, Pioneer AVH-P4400BH w/ Backup cam, CB/PA (PA Installed), Weathertech Digis, Foglight anytime, AP: front bumper, skids, and pack rack, custom sliders, Warn 9.5XP, dual VIAIR 480Cs with a 2.5gal tank, OTRATTW switches galore, URD y-pipe, RCI skids, LF 240s, etc.
    The ELM327 is like $11 on Amazon...why are y'all determined to over pay? Lol
     
  2. Jun 19, 2013 at 7:17 AM
    #322
    Sloth

    Sloth Baby Ruth?

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Member:
    #91263
    Messages:
    5,903
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Peoples Republic of Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    I've seen it on some forums where people run small Android tablets add their stereo in their dash and have torque running as well.

    I run it on my old Android. wouldn't be that hard to make up a custom steering wheel gauge pod for the phone. But fiber glassing or similar is something I don't have three patience for, do I just run it in a window auction cup mount.
     
  3. Jun 19, 2013 at 10:45 AM
    #323
    Sloth

    Sloth Baby Ruth?

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Member:
    #91263
    Messages:
    5,903
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Peoples Republic of Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    Some of the cheap ones don't refresh fast enough, break easily, won't connect, etc...

    I've got the kiwi Bluetooth one. World well, had a high refresh rate for data logging, and was only like $100.
     
  4. Jun 19, 2013 at 10:51 AM
    #324
    xaqori

    xaqori I need gas money

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Member:
    #80410
    Messages:
    1,773
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Marietta, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    '06 4x4 Limo
    ARB lockers and 4.88s front and rear, OME 886s, Dakars, etc., Safari Snorkel, 17"Fuel Revolvers w/ 35x12.50r17 KM2s, fenders cut 3" all around, Pioneer AVH-P4400BH w/ Backup cam, CB/PA (PA Installed), Weathertech Digis, Foglight anytime, AP: front bumper, skids, and pack rack, custom sliders, Warn 9.5XP, dual VIAIR 480Cs with a 2.5gal tank, OTRATTW switches galore, URD y-pipe, RCI skids, LF 240s, etc.
    Well...I guess that could be the issue. :p
     
  5. Jun 19, 2013 at 11:12 AM
    #325
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk [OP] I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    When I first bought the ELM 327 two years ago I dont remember it being on Amazon. Also it does refresh super slow and sometimes misses refreshes. It lasted two years though before breaking on me a few weeks ago.

    I bought the OBDLink MX to replace it.
     
  6. Jun 20, 2013 at 8:53 AM
    #326
    bwanamukubwa

    bwanamukubwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Member:
    #100061
    Messages:
    254
    Tennessee
    Is there a headunit that can run android apps like Torque? If so, it would make this so seamless!
     
  7. Jun 20, 2013 at 9:06 AM
    #327
    skygear

    skygear           

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66558
    Messages:
    8,569
    Gender:
    Male
    Thats clear. Thanks. I know when I sold Ford, we had a Super Snake ( Shelby Mustang) In the back that was new, from the "factory" and it had Wideband. Just thought there might be a flash out there.
     
  8. Jun 20, 2013 at 9:07 AM
    #328
    skygear

    skygear           

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66558
    Messages:
    8,569
    Gender:
    Male
    That was what was looking for also. No, Not at this point is the answer I am finding through my research.
     
  9. Jun 20, 2013 at 9:07 AM
    #329
    skygear

    skygear           

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66558
    Messages:
    8,569
    Gender:
    Male
    NICE! Let me know how you like it. Mine has been great so far. Also, do not forget to do the firmware update on the MX.

    Pro Tip- Turn the bluetooth OFF on your cell phone first. <- Don't ask me how I know... :bananadead:

    Got to do the update through a Bluetooth enabled PC.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2013
  10. Jun 20, 2013 at 10:28 AM
    #330
    Sloth

    Sloth Baby Ruth?

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Member:
    #91263
    Messages:
    5,903
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Peoples Republic of Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    In the Shelby its using the AFR to adjust other parameters to keep the engine operating in a certain range. On the Toyota its strictly emissions related and does not control any other engine/ecu parameters.
     
  11. Jun 20, 2013 at 2:22 PM
    #331
    skygear

    skygear           

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66558
    Messages:
    8,569
    Gender:
    Male
    Yep, Just wasn't sure how ours were setup. Would that URD computer for our trucks change anything?

    By the way, thank you for the educated answers.
     
  12. Jun 20, 2013 at 2:40 PM
    #332
    YotaKid62

    YotaKid62 Dirty mall crawler

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Member:
    #68355
    Messages:
    1,202
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Forrest
    North Dakota
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma TRD Sr5 5 speed
    Grey Wire Locker Mod, 3" coil spacers & custom leaf packs, 2" BL, Skyjacker rear nitro shocks, Monroe front gas shocks; 15" eclipse sub & 1400 watt visonik amp with Kenwood stereo, Billet Petals, Black Aries series Grille guard, ebay baja lights (unsure of brand)
    Kindle 2 I'm pretty sure has Bluetooth. I have a rooted 1st gen running Jellybean android software, which has a Bluetooth switch. To my dismay, nothing happened when I turned it on. I'm just starting to get into Bluetooth stuff so I was never too worried about it till now.
     
  13. Jun 20, 2013 at 6:48 PM
    #333
    BrokenTusk

    BrokenTusk [OP] I support a velociraptor free workplace.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36607
    Messages:
    32,102
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Marcelasaurus
    AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    The Scarlett Whore
    Check Build Thread!!
    You bought the MX ? Thanks for the update I'll remember that :D
     
  14. Jun 21, 2013 at 12:33 AM
    #334
    skygear

    skygear           

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66558
    Messages:
    8,569
    Gender:
    Male
    Yep, She's installed and working as advertised. If you need another person to do tests on their end, let me know and I'm more than happy to.

    I still need to go through all the default gauges and remove the ones not used.
     
  15. Jun 21, 2013 at 4:58 AM
    #335
    bwanamukubwa

    bwanamukubwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Member:
    #100061
    Messages:
    254
    Tennessee
    Good to know i'm not the only one who wants this, maybe it'll actually happen soon.. just thought it would be cool to also be able to send navigation directions and task reminders to it over wifi.
     
  16. Jun 21, 2013 at 4:11 PM
    #336
    SDSam

    SDSam from Dirt bike to Dezert Couch

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Member:
    #80249
    Messages:
    668
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma prerunner
    Icon Shocks, BTF front, Deaver f67, 33's on stocks, Fiberwerxs 1pc, TDR S/C, Bed & Eng Caged
    Hey just got this installed on my 1st Gen and its awesome so far.
    Tranny temp, Air/fuel, intake air temp and voltmeter. Lets see what else i can find.
     
  17. Jun 21, 2013 at 4:53 PM
    #337
    skygear

    skygear           

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66558
    Messages:
    8,569
    Gender:
    Male
    There should be the sensor list in green of al the available sensors
     
  18. Jun 22, 2013 at 6:55 AM
    #338
    Sloth

    Sloth Baby Ruth?

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Member:
    #91263
    Messages:
    5,903
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Peoples Republic of Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    Air fuel isn't really air fuel. See previous posts.
     
  19. Jun 22, 2013 at 7:27 AM
    #339
    SDSam

    SDSam from Dirt bike to Dezert Couch

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Member:
    #80249
    Messages:
    668
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma prerunner
    Icon Shocks, BTF front, Deaver f67, 33's on stocks, Fiberwerxs 1pc, TDR S/C, Bed & Eng Caged
    It's the reading from O2 sensor. And the ecu keeping stoichiometric a/f ratio. What i want to read.
     
  20. Jun 22, 2013 at 8:15 AM
    #340
    Sloth

    Sloth Baby Ruth?

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Member:
    #91263
    Messages:
    5,903
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Peoples Republic of Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    07 FJ Cruiser
    I know what it is, I'm just saying its reading the voltage output from the factory narrowband sensor, and converting it to "AFR" reading. All it is really telling you is if the AFR is within the factory spec range, not what the actual AFR is. You would need a wideband for that.
     
To Top