1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

WTF!! Need some help boys!

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by MotoXXX, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. Jun 10, 2010 at 7:34 PM
    #1
    MotoXXX

    MotoXXX [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23632
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    02 Pre-Runner
    2002 Tacoma double cab V-6 automatic 98k miles, runs/shifts like a champ, parked it for a week, had a guy come over and detail the truck including the engine bay, went to drive it today and it wont shift unless you wind the crap out of it and then it shifts at almost redline. It will hold in a gear untill you floor it floor it, then it shifts, when you let off the gas it will coast until you get the rpms up. WTF happend? Did something get wet? I checked all the norm, nothing unplugged or hoses off. Kick down/throttle cable look to be working fine, I cant figure it out? Any input????
     
  2. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:14 PM
    #2
    Manlaan

    Manlaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Member:
    #30054
    Messages:
    1,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    Just read pretty close to the the exact same thing over at TTORA after someone washed their engine. http://www.ttora.com/forum/showthread.php?t=158617 Maybe the same thing happened with you. (basically some electrical connectors at the trans were plugged with dirt)
     
  3. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:34 PM
    #3
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    How did he detail the engine bay? Did he use a pressure washer? If so, water may have gone where it shouldn't have.
     
  4. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:52 PM
    #4
    MotoXXX

    MotoXXX [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23632
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    02 Pre-Runner
    Ya I just did a search and read that too! I will try to spray some contact cleaner on the conectors, TPS conector as well, I am not sure how they cleaned it? Was not home when they did it. Damm!
     
  5. Jun 13, 2010 at 7:50 AM
    #5
    75thrangertaco

    75thrangertaco Sua Sponte! RLTW

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Member:
    #37065
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    charles
    casper wyoming
    procomp 6 inch co lift ,305/55/20 xtreme a/t tires,4.88 gears ,,grill shell painted white billet inserts.Trd cat back ,
    check the connector for the throttle position sensor. this also controls the trans shift points. make sure there is no water in it. blow it out put some dialectric grease around the seal. allso clear your codes. even if there is no cel present the vehicle can still have what they call soft codes wich will put the vehicle into limp home mode and display the same symptoms after the repair is made.even if the scanner says no codes present. clear them anyway. this resets the pcm and tcm in most cases.and alows for a relearn procedure. so it may act unusual for a few days . the more you drive it the better it wil get
     
  6. Jun 13, 2010 at 6:02 PM
    #6
    MotoXXX

    MotoXXX [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23632
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    02 Pre-Runner
    I pulled every plug I could find and sprayed them out with electric cleaner, pluged em back in and no change, so last nite I re sprayed them and left them unpluged, it been warm here in Cali, I have not tried it yet. How do I clear the codes? Where can I get a scaner? Can you rent them? Thanks for your input/help!
     
  7. Jun 13, 2010 at 6:46 PM
    #7
    MotoXXX

    MotoXXX [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23632
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    02 Pre-Runner
    Update, pluged everything back in and no change! F&&K!!! I unpluged and cleaned every plug I could find inside the engine compartment AND on the tranny to no avail! I am pissed!!!!
     
  8. Jun 13, 2010 at 7:03 PM
    #8
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,823
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Herbie Hancock
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    Mostly stock for now, I have added a cb radio, various cheap mods and I plan on adding aftermarket wheels and other items in the future.
    Unplug battery and plug battery back in. It's a dumb suggestion from me, but anything I could help or say have already been said already by other posters.
    Also check the fuse box if not already.

    EDIT: probably won't do anything, but worth the shot. NOTE: It may also reset oil change interval to 0 if you have one, will also erase saved radio stations/settings.
     
  9. Jun 13, 2010 at 8:51 PM
    #9
    75thrangertaco

    75thrangertaco Sua Sponte! RLTW

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Member:
    #37065
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    charles
    casper wyoming
    procomp 6 inch co lift ,305/55/20 xtreme a/t tires,4.88 gears ,,grill shell painted white billet inserts.Trd cat back ,
    you can buy a scanner at any autoparts store for under 100 bux. man i wish i could be of more help.
     
  10. Jun 13, 2010 at 8:54 PM
    #10
    tacomakid96

    tacomakid96 Can you skin Grizz, pilgram?

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Member:
    #30175
    Messages:
    3,609
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    Out n' about
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma
    Airbags, Projectors, Bilsteins front and rear, FM 50 series, URD clutch/TOB, Leer canopy, 265/75/16 Duratrac's...
    x2 I am completely stumped, I would go around to local shops and ge their opinions as well.
     
  11. Jul 9, 2010 at 9:27 PM
    #11
    MotoXXX

    MotoXXX [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23632
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    02 Pre-Runner
    Update! I ended up taking it to the dealer, they spent 13 hours on it, it was not throwing codes out, so they went thru everything, but no responce, they ended up hookng a lap top up to and and drove it and got it to shift using the laptop. The main tech is a freak and would not let up! he started swaping out parts off another tacoma starting with the computer, nothing. He ran a test on the TPS and at idle it was at like 9 oms when it should have been zero, swaped it out and Bingo! It was the TPS (throttle position sensor) Good thing my buddies the GM! LOL Cost me 175$
     
  12. Jul 9, 2010 at 9:28 PM
    #12
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    Awesome, man, glad you had the fortune of having that tech working on your rig!
     
To Top