1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ARB Twin Compressor wiring

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by iDELT11, Jan 22, 2018.

  1. Jan 22, 2018 at 6:08 PM
    #1
    iDELT11

    iDELT11 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Member:
    #239641
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I wanted to see if anyone can help with the wiring for the ARB twin compressor. Specifically the wiring for the ignition and the dash illumination. What wire did you tap into to make sure that the switch will dim. I have highlighted the wires in the picture so you can see which one I am talking about. Thanks in advance. If you could help with pictures it would be greatly appreciated.

    IMG_1096.jpg
     
  2. Jan 22, 2018 at 6:29 PM
    #2
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    There have been a few threads about this. This is good since I'm installing one in mine right now as well. Just figured out that yes, the entire air box really needs to come out if you have big hands (Slee OR mount).

    This is the most recent I think:

    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/arb-ckmta12-install.495808/
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2018
    iDELT11 [OP] likes this.
  3. Jan 23, 2018 at 12:12 AM
    #3
    madmanxing

    madmanxing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Member:
    #206565
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Cement Tacoma Trd Pro
    hey!
    so i have a caliraised bar and ditch lights and i just tapped into the 12v on those... lol:rolleyes::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

    i can turn the led bar and ditch lights on when the truck is off(and they are dimly illuminated all the time), and now same goes for the compressor. (WHICH I WONT BE turning it on dont worry lol.)

    i like it cause in case i ever pull anything out the factory wires are still untouched. so basically you can tap to any 12 volt and you are good.

    not the best way... but easiest if you know not to turn it on and drain your battery when the truck is off :thumbsup:
     
    iDELT11 [OP] likes this.
  4. Jan 23, 2018 at 6:13 AM
    #4
    iDELT11

    iDELT11 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Member:
    #239641
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey I appreciate your responses!
     
  5. Mar 24, 2020 at 8:19 PM
    #5
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    I’m curious on this too. Any help on where to hook these two connections? The guy’s link above isn’t using the traditional set up. I’ve seen people use the fuses under the dash but then the cover won’t go back on. Are there fuses that can be taped in the main fuse box under the hood?
     
  6. Mar 24, 2020 at 8:25 PM
    #6
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    I used this with an add-a-fuse under the dash: https://mesocustoms.com/collections/toyota-tacoma-3rd-gen/products/extended-fuse-cover
     
  7. Mar 25, 2020 at 7:58 AM
    #7
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
  8. Mar 25, 2020 at 6:59 PM
    #8
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    I tapped into POUTLET1. The fuse is just for the switch.
     
  9. Mar 25, 2020 at 7:09 PM
    #9
    Col4bin

    Col4bin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    654
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
    YouTube has a few videos that address this too
     
  10. Mar 25, 2020 at 7:35 PM
    #10
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    Care to share links?
     
  11. Mar 25, 2020 at 7:35 PM
    #11
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    You taped into that for ignition or dash illumination?
     
  12. Mar 25, 2020 at 7:57 PM
    #12
    Col4bin

    Col4bin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    654
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
  13. Mar 25, 2020 at 9:22 PM
    #13
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    Ignition. Pulled the illumination from the bed light as I remember.

    Edit - I installed it almost 2 years ago and it's just worked so I haven't had a reason to look again.
     
  14. Mar 26, 2020 at 5:02 AM
    #14
    Col4bin

    Col4bin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    654
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
    Just watch that video
     
  15. Mar 26, 2020 at 6:17 AM
    #15
    pltommyo

    pltommyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Member:
    #229091
    Messages:
    313
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Vehicle:
    2016 Gray Tacoma TRD Offroad
    None (yet)
    If you want to use either compressor independent of the other, simply break the feed from switch 1 slot 3 (yellow) that leads to switch 2 slot 2 (yellow) and instead tap it so switch 1 slot 2 (red) leads to switch 2 slot 2 (yellow). Leave switch 1 slot 3 lead running to the compressor - only break off the tap to switch 2. This powers the two switches separately rather than sequentially. See spot circled in red to cut tap, move to the left one wire where the new tap is indicated.

    IMG_1096.jpg
     
  16. Mar 26, 2020 at 11:24 AM
    #16
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,240
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    I've seen this one but honestly the guy wasn't instilling a lot of confidence from the video. Me totally judging there but he almost appears as he's trying to figure it out as he goes and didn't seem confident but I suppose I'll go off that.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
  17. Mar 26, 2020 at 5:44 PM
    #17
    Col4bin

    Col4bin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    654
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
    It’s worked great for three years. He’s just a regular old guy figuring it’s out maybe as he goes but I like those videos tbh.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top