1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Aux Fuse Block, Where to locate?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by qnyla, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. Dec 25, 2010 at 6:27 PM
    #1
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    06 DC Off Road 6-Speed
    Hey guys, I am wanting to install an axillary fuse block in my 2006 (Doublecab TRD with 6-speed manual transmission). I will use it to power radios and extra cigar lighter power outlets, etc. I want to locate the fuse block inside the cab to minimize the number of wires I need to feed through the firewall and to keep the fuse block away from the elements (which are really messy given the places I go).

    I picked up a Blue Sea Systems 12 fuse block.

    Any ideas on where I can mount it? I am coming up with lousy options.

    Also, any ideas on good places to put extra cigar lighter power outlets? I am going to put a couple on the back of the center console. Anybody have good places to locate them up front?

    Thanks.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Dec 25, 2010 at 6:57 PM
    #2
    j1999t

    j1999t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17165
    Messages:
    813
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    traded it in
    subbed, i am interested too
     
  3. Dec 25, 2010 at 7:35 PM
    #3
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    06 DC Off Road 6-Speed
    Nice install. I have a Snugtop shell on the truck so that will not work for me.
     
  4. Dec 25, 2010 at 9:09 PM
    #4
    barlowrs

    barlowrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Member:
    #31230
    Messages:
    597
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    So Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 Toyota Tacoma Sport 4x4
    Build Thread: http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/builds/74926-barlowrs-06-taco-expo-build-thread.html OME Lift, FJ SE Wheels, 255/85 KM2, Allpro Plate Bumper, 8K Winch, Synthetic Line, Yaesu FT-8800R, Custom Sliders Sockmonkey bedside decals, BHLM, base model grille, TRD offroad (black) trim
  5. Dec 25, 2010 at 10:06 PM
    #5
    MrGrimm

    MrGrimm Mall Crawler

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24568
    Messages:
    2,556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dean
    Slaying bodies abroad
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma 4WD w/TRD Sport Package
    See build page
    ^Wasn't somebody going to make and sell those mounts? I need one!!
     
  6. Dec 25, 2010 at 10:15 PM
    #6
    ilovetacos

    ilovetacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4464
    Messages:
    2,323
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gavin
    Sacramento/Woodland
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD Sport 4x4 DC
    Sold!
    You may have a hard time finding room for it in the cab. I do remember seeing someone on the FJ Cruiser forum that mounted it under the dash. To me it looked a little sloppy and out of place.

    My install thread

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Dec 25, 2010 at 10:24 PM
    #7
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    06 DC Off Road 6-Speed
    When mounted under the hood, does the Blue Sea fuse block get full of dust and mud? It does not look too weatherproof to me.
     
  8. Dec 25, 2010 at 10:25 PM
    #8
    Timber

    Timber Crankey Old Yacht Jockey

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Member:
    #31147
    Messages:
    237
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    San Pedro Bay Ports
    just a couple comfort items.
    I dont have pics now, but I was able to fit the Blue Seas fuse block behind the glove box on a bracket I made. Keep in mind that you will still will have to get a good size pair of cables to it depending on what you want to distribute to. I think I ran 2 or 4 ga. cable to it. I will see if I can get a pic or two in the next few days.
     
  9. Dec 25, 2010 at 10:27 PM
    #9
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    06 DC Off Road 6-Speed
    Seeing the photos would be great. I am looking at 4 AWG cables from the battery.
     
  10. Dec 25, 2010 at 10:28 PM
    #10
    MrGrimm

    MrGrimm Mall Crawler

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24568
    Messages:
    2,556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dean
    Slaying bodies abroad
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma 4WD w/TRD Sport Package
    See build page
    I have mine under the hood at the moment on top of the stock fuse block. It doesnt get too dirty. It is high enough for water to keep out of it.
     
  11. Dec 25, 2010 at 10:48 PM
    #11
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    06 DC Off Road 6-Speed
    The cleanest install would be in the engine compartment, but I am worried about the dust and mud as the Blue Sea is not sealed up like the main fuse block in the engine compartment.

    The best I have come up with so far inside the cab is in the center console behind the shifter. Very cramped and crappy.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Dec 25, 2010 at 11:15 PM
    #12
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    812
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    06 DC Off Road 6-Speed
    If somebody did make up a batch, I'd sure like to buy one...
     
  13. Dec 25, 2010 at 11:20 PM
    #13
    mrp192

    mrp192 REALLY!!

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Member:
    #13911
    Messages:
    739
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    Cheney WA
    Vehicle:
    98 V6 4x4 limited
    Stereo, boobies
    God I wish I had room in my eng bay.. I have a limited first gen so theres no room.. I had to take out my overflow tank and mount it there..
     
  14. Dec 27, 2010 at 5:05 PM
    #14
    Timber

    Timber Crankey Old Yacht Jockey

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Member:
    #31147
    Messages:
    237
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    San Pedro Bay Ports
    just a couple comfort items.
    Here are a couple pics of one behind the glove box. The mount and block come out by removing the wing nuts then you can pull it out for easy access. If you have it out when you wire new stuff there will be enough extra wire slack to pull it out again and work on it.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Dec 27, 2010 at 10:31 PM
    #15
    yosh2000

    yosh2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Member:
    #2733
    Messages:
    2,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    '05 4runner SR5 v8
    see my build thread in my sig...looks much like the other blue sea installs
     
  16. Dec 27, 2010 at 10:35 PM
    #16
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    5,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Locker, Yaesu FT 8900 Ham Radio
    I've been working under the hood on my compressor install.

    It occured to me that a possible good location for a fuse block would be mounted to the top of the LID of the factory fuse box.

    Brilliant or stupid?
     
  17. Dec 27, 2010 at 10:38 PM
    #17
    MrGrimm

    MrGrimm Mall Crawler

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24568
    Messages:
    2,556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dean
    Slaying bodies abroad
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma 4WD w/TRD Sport Package
    See build page
    That's where mine is. Problem is that if I have to get to the stock fuse box, it can be a pain in the ass.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Dec 27, 2010 at 10:43 PM
    #18
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    5,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Locker, Yaesu FT 8900 Ham Radio
    That space is taken - it's where I just put my compressor.
     
  19. Dec 27, 2010 at 10:45 PM
    #19
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    5,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Locker, Yaesu FT 8900 Ham Radio
    On my reg cab - the passenger side has the master cylinder mounted where most have space for a compressor.
     
  20. Dec 27, 2010 at 11:38 PM
    #20
    Manwithoutaplan

    Manwithoutaplan the full Monty

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Member:
    #4500
    Messages:
    44,288
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Speedway Blue Trd 4x4
    -Nitro 4.56 gears - Arb Front and Rear lockers. -Rear Swing out bumper Curiosity of ( Dept .94) https://www.facebook.com/Dept94 -Tinted, -ProComp 6 inch lift with Icon Coil overs and Bilstein's 7100Resi -315/70/17 - 17x8 in Pro Comp Matte black rims 4.5 bs -East Coast Gear Supply Sliders -ALL Pro EXP LEaf pack -Camburg UCA's -CAB mount CHOP
    that is some good SH!$
     
To Top