1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Best source for OEM TPMS?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Speedbird, Oct 14, 2017.

  1. Oct 14, 2017 at 9:25 AM
    #1
    Speedbird

    Speedbird [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Member:
    #194628
    Messages:
    118
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD-OR (RIP: VW TDI)
    Hey Gents,
    I'm setting up a 5th wheel for tire rotations... Have everything except a TPMS. Local dealer wanted almost $80 Seemed pretty steep to me. I don't want a $35 Amazon knock off. Anyone have a source for a genuine Toyota TPMS? (Or looking to sell a take off?)
     
  2. Oct 14, 2017 at 9:33 AM
    #2
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 " Sprinkles "

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    58,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
    Believe it or not I have gotten all my TPMS Sensors off of Fleabay. Do you have an actual part number
     
  3. Oct 14, 2017 at 9:34 AM
    #3
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 " Sprinkles "

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    58,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
  4. Oct 14, 2017 at 9:44 AM
    #4
    RichVT

    RichVT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146329
    Messages:
    517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4X4 AC Grey
    The going rate online is about $60. The sensors that Tire Rack sells are identical to the OEM ones.
     
    Unchained 5150 likes this.
  5. Oct 14, 2017 at 9:58 AM
    #5
    RichVT

    RichVT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146329
    Messages:
    517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4X4 AC Grey
  6. Oct 14, 2017 at 12:32 PM
    #6
    over60

    over60 Over70 & still a "Grumpy Old Guy"

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44995
    Messages:
    4,713
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Muskoka, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno (Punkin) TRD 4X4 Sport DCLB w/upgrade & tech pkg..!!
    Toyota running boards/Solid Fold 2.0/custom stickers/Anti-Dark LED light under hood/Derped grill/Scoop, etc.
    Won't adding a 5th one mess up yer ECU, that can only read 4 of them...??

    This does not make any sense to me..!
     
  7. Oct 14, 2017 at 12:34 PM
    #7
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 " Sprinkles "

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    58,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
    I believe you are right as I have a 15 and it will only log 4, my spare has one it as well but I think every time I rotate the spare in the guy has to redo the sensors
     
  8. Oct 14, 2017 at 12:43 PM
    #8
    over60

    over60 Over70 & still a "Grumpy Old Guy"

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44995
    Messages:
    4,713
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Muskoka, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno (Punkin) TRD 4X4 Sport DCLB w/upgrade & tech pkg..!!
    Toyota running boards/Solid Fold 2.0/custom stickers/Anti-Dark LED light under hood/Derped grill/Scoop, etc.
    Are you sure your spare has one...?? My 2006 did, but I think they stopped doing that around 2009 or so..!! My 2016 does NOT have one in the spare.
     
  9. Oct 14, 2017 at 12:45 PM
    #9
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 " Sprinkles "

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    58,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
    Yes as I have 5 matching TRD Beadlock's in Bronze and it has one as I put it there.

    20170224_161930.jpg
     
    HeliToast likes this.
  10. Oct 14, 2017 at 12:51 PM
    #10
    over60

    over60 Over70 & still a "Grumpy Old Guy"

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Member:
    #44995
    Messages:
    4,713
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Muskoka, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno (Punkin) TRD 4X4 Sport DCLB w/upgrade & tech pkg..!!
    Toyota running boards/Solid Fold 2.0/custom stickers/Anti-Dark LED light under hood/Derped grill/Scoop, etc.
    OK, you added that one.... so how do you sync that with the truck when you rotate..?? I think it will only read 4 of them. ??

    EDIT..oops, I missed your earlier note.... The tire guys "read" the sensor and make thing right..!!

    OK..:thumbsup:
     
  11. Oct 14, 2017 at 12:55 PM
    #11
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 " Sprinkles "

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    58,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
    Yup whichever one he removes to the Hitchgate on puts in one of the 4 tire spots, he goes around and grabs the codes that are now in the 4 tire spots, and just plugs into my ob slot and viola done. 5 minutes tops
     
    over60 likes this.
  12. Oct 15, 2017 at 7:16 AM
    #12
    CBRDude

    CBRDude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Member:
    #231994
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    The only issue I’ve found with eBay is new old stock. Meaning the parts have now been superseded, discontinued or the batteries are dead. Some shops have zero patients for non working parts or parts not sourced through them. You should buy from a dealer vs. an individual. Yes there are some guys hustling parts on their own through the parts department.
     
    boynoyce likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top