1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

cb power from auxiliary fuse box?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Redfox1, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. Jun 10, 2010 at 7:59 PM
    #1
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Ive been trying to set up my cb through my auxiliary fuse box. I got a add a fuse and have been trying to power it from one of the open slots. Its not working so far. Any help? Just to clarify it is the stock fuse box that is under the steering wheel
     
  2. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:02 PM
    #2
    colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    18,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    if you're using an aux. fuse box, why are you using an add-a-fuze? you should be able to use one of the open spots in the new fuze box. also, check your grounds...i've done a lot of wiring, and if something doesn't work right, the first place i look is the ground.... turns out to be the problem 90% of the time
     
  3. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:18 PM
    #3
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
  4. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:19 PM
    #4
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Also I was using a 10 amp fuse with the add a fuse. Is this right for a cb with a 13.8 DC V?
     
  5. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:32 PM
    #5
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    This is a pm db67fm sent me after asking him how he did his. Mine looks identical to this. I might have messed up the connection(blue part)? I just crimped it.
     
  6. Jun 10, 2010 at 8:54 PM
    #6
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Help anyone Please?
     
  7. Jun 10, 2010 at 9:10 PM
    #7
    CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    bump for sum helpz!
     
  8. Jun 10, 2010 at 9:11 PM
    #8
    bakerla

    bakerla Man, Myth, Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Member:
    #25348
    Messages:
    4,730
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lyndall
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    '10 4wd OR
    CBI Moab front and CBI Trailrider rear, Budbuilt skids, Shrockworks sliders, OME Dakars w/ OME Nitros, OME 886x w/ OME Nitros, Light Racing UCAs, stainless steel brakelines F/R, Cobra 75 w/ Firestik antenna, 255/85/16 Cooper ST Maxx on 1st gen alloys, Weathertech liners, Engo 9000S winch, stickars and other shit.
    it's my understanding that wiring your radio straight to your battery or adding an aux power distribution block that connects straight to your battery is better for cb radios as it will minimize any signal interference. doesn't exactly answer your question, but...
     
  9. Jun 10, 2010 at 9:12 PM
    #9
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    you need to have something to test power at the fuse box. If you don't then you can get power at a cigarette lighter or any other place. how much of the truck do you/can you have apart?
     
  10. Jun 10, 2010 at 9:14 PM
    #10
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    and what year is it?
     
  11. Jun 10, 2010 at 9:30 PM
    #11
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Its a 2009, but the fuses should be hot, everything that runs off of them works fine. And i tried using one of the slots that thier was already a fuse in.
     
  12. Jun 10, 2010 at 9:58 PM
    #12
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    night bump
     
    mahaloTaco likes this.
  13. Jun 10, 2010 at 10:25 PM
    #13
    colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    18,599
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
  14. Jun 11, 2010 at 4:49 AM
    #14
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,254
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    You need to find a fuse with power that comes on when the ignition is on. On my truck, some fuses had no power at all, some were always on, and some had power only when the ignition was switched on. Not all tacomas are the same. It depends on year and options.

    So, get a test light or multi meter and find which fuse gets power when the ignition is on.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Jun 11, 2010 at 7:17 AM
    #15
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    X2 You can get a cheap test light for under 10 bucks...a multi meter is the best way to go though, just make sure you stay away from any fuses that have yellow casing around them.
     
  16. Jun 11, 2010 at 8:14 AM
    #16
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Ill try that you guys^^. but i was looking at the fuses and the fuse that is attached to the add a fuse is longer than the ones that are already in the truck, could this be my problem?
     
  17. Jun 12, 2010 at 6:09 AM
    #17
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,254
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    Post a picture.
     
  18. Jun 12, 2010 at 8:36 AM
    #18
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Here is what the stock fuses look like [​IMG]
    These ^^^ types of fuses dont fit in the add a fuse so i dont think thats going to work. But I was talking to the guy who put in my toolbox yesterday and he was really helpful. He tested all of the fuses like you guys mentioned and we figured out that the fuse i should be running off the 7.5 amp ACC fuse. The cb only pulls about 2 amps ive figured out so that should work fine. He told me i should get a fuse "pigtail"(i believe its a fuse tap) that just slid over one of the prongs of the existing fuse. So as of right now im in the process of looking of looking for a fuse pigtail.
     
  19. Jun 12, 2010 at 3:39 PM
    #19
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    ok well i got the pigtail for the mini fuse but it doesnt fit our low profile mini fuses. arg. I didnt even think of it but i could go back to my first setup, and buy a mini fuse that will fit in the add a fuse instead of trying to use the low profile mini fuse which wont fit
     
  20. Jun 12, 2010 at 3:42 PM
    #20
    bakerla

    bakerla Man, Myth, Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Member:
    #25348
    Messages:
    4,730
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lyndall
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    '10 4wd OR
    CBI Moab front and CBI Trailrider rear, Budbuilt skids, Shrockworks sliders, OME Dakars w/ OME Nitros, OME 886x w/ OME Nitros, Light Racing UCAs, stainless steel brakelines F/R, Cobra 75 w/ Firestik antenna, 255/85/16 Cooper ST Maxx on 1st gen alloys, Weathertech liners, Engo 9000S winch, stickars and other shit.
    why not just wire it to the battery?
     
To Top