1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

DIY body work?

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by andrewbh, Sep 7, 2011.

1. Sep 7, 2011 at 8:10 AM
    andrewbh

andrewbh [OP] New Member

Member:
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    97 4x4
    Hey everyone, I'm new here but I'm ready for your flames haha. And yes I did a search with no luck...

I have a 97 Tacoma that needs a little body work. I just got quoted at $1800 which I don't have because I'm a poor college student. Got any tips for DIY body work? Its contained to the right lower panels. Have a look.

gross_8b0ee667c97ca7e67ad55affda6d5d2ac786c725.jpg

2. Sep 7, 2011 at 8:17 AM
    TACOMA TRD

TACOMA TRD Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.
    Welcome!!! I think you may have to cut those bottom panels out and replace with some new skin. It apears it may be to twisted to bang out and bondo.

3. Sep 7, 2011 at 10:05 AM
    fbconvert

fbconvert Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brian
    Seacoast, NH
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma Double Cab TRD Sport
    looks like you need a new flare, so I would check ebay or local salvage yards. your body shop probably took the price of a new one from the dealership which is about $250 plus. You have a couple of options though. My first suggestions.

Do the body work your self and pay for someone to paint it. If you want to paint then you need to consider a paint gun ~$200, paint~$300, Compressor ~$600 to $1200.