1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fuse box, Relays, Switches... help a dummy out

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by SandyTaco04, Feb 10, 2020.

?

Beef or Fish Tacos

Poll closed Feb 25, 2020.
  1. Beef

    40.0%
  2. Fish

    20.0%
  3. You get none

    40.0%
  1. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:07 AM
    #1
    SandyTaco04

    SandyTaco04 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Member:
    #316291
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 Black Tacoma TRD OffRoad
    Hello, it's almost Taco Tuesday and I need some learnin before I can enjoy any tacos.

    Here is my question cause I have been looking for about 30 minutes and cant find a good thread...(NOTE: I am a complete electrical dummy. I can replace piston rings, but cant replace a light bulb)

    Anyways, I want to add a few lights to my 2018 Off-Road Tacoma(Ditch, rear facing environment, and light bar), and don't understand the process from going from loser to pro. The main question arises from understanding relays. I want to use this blue sea system (Link: https://overlandequipped.com/collec...for-3rd-generation-toyota-tacoma-2016-present ) that will be wired into some cali raised buttons on their three switch mounting bracket where the coin cubby is currently.

    I know you go from battery to breaker to fuse box, but from there I am lost. What is the relay doing if I have switches inside my cab? Can someone please explain to a dummy how I go from fuse box to lights using in cab switches? Do I need relays for Baja Design/Rigid lights? Do I need to go back to school? Do I even deserve Tacos????
     
  2. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:18 AM
    #2
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    5,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    The purpose of a relay is to keep the higher amp/current from flowing through the switches in the cab. Generally the switches in the cab are designed for low(er) current. The relay is a high(er) current switch. If you put high current through a device designed with a low current rating, chances are it will burn out. So you turn the high current switch (the relay) on/off with the low current switch in the cab.
     
  3. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:27 AM
    #3
    SandyTaco04

    SandyTaco04 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Member:
    #316291
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 Black Tacoma TRD OffRoad
    So if I have this blue sea fuse box, and I want to go from that to a relay to my switch, to all of these lights... do I need a relay for every light? Seems like a lot of extra wiring, and random relays I now have no idea where to put.
     
  4. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:27 AM
    #4
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
  5. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:35 AM
    #5
    SandyTaco04

    SandyTaco04 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Member:
    #316291
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 Black Tacoma TRD OffRoad
  6. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:44 AM
    #6
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    Mine sit beside the fuse box;
    [​IMG]

    CaliRaised makes a holder;
    https://caliraisedled.com/products/2005-2020-toyota-tacoma-4runner-bolt-on-relay-holder

    You want a relay for each use; ditch lights have a relay, driving lights have a relay. If they were all on the same you wouldn't be able to use them independently.
     
    SandyTaco04 [OP] likes this.
  7. Feb 10, 2020 at 10:44 AM
    #7
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    5,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    You can combine devices/lights in logical combinations upto the rating of the relay. e.g., light1 is 5 amps, light2 is 3 amps. Together 7 amps. As long as the relay is rated at greater than 7 amps you can control both lights through one relay. Note: I would add some head room to the hypothetical relay rating.
     
    SandyTaco04 [OP] and vicali like this.
  8. Feb 10, 2020 at 11:03 AM
    #8
    SR-71A

    SR-71A Define "Well-Known Member"

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Member:
    #255145
    Messages:
    4,809
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB, TX Baja Edition. Barcelona Red
    Mobtown sliders, ARB bar, Icon RXT leafs, extended & adjustable Kings, JBA UCAs, Tepui Ayer 2, dual batteries, Gen2 xrc9.5 winch, CB, GMRS, S1 ditch lights...
  9. Feb 10, 2020 at 11:25 AM
    #9
    RyanDCLB

    RyanDCLB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Member:
    #296235
    Messages:
    1,901
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    4/19 DCLBOR
    SandyTaco04 [OP] likes this.
  10. Feb 11, 2020 at 10:58 AM
    #10
    TacoInTacoma

    TacoInTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2019
    Member:
    #314297
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Tacoma, WA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma Off-Road/Super White
    SR-71A likes this.
  11. Feb 11, 2020 at 11:06 AM
    #11
    jay993

    jay993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2019
    Member:
    #306275
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport V6 AC
    bone stock
    leave it to the aftermarket installs to screw it all up
     
    SandyTaco04 [OP] likes this.
  12. Feb 14, 2020 at 9:18 AM
    #12
    Pj40

    Pj40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Member:
    #316424
    Messages:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    Washington
    I know it's all probabaly super confusing but once you learn the basics(relay pin out/function, basic fuse layout, grounding) it's all super simple after that. I personally didnt like anything aftermarket, if something failed it wasnt changeable or fixable you had to buy a whole new unit. So I built my own power distribution/fuse box. They're currently arent any fuses in this box because I have to measure the output of my accessories but you get the idea hopefully.

    20191231_201715.jpg
    20191231_201519.jpg
    20191231_201422.jpg
    20191222_165846.jpg
     
    SR-71A, shane100700 and vicali like this.

Products Discussed in

To Top