1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hi guys; I am looking for a tailgate bracket>

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Motu, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Mar 22, 2009 at 3:01 AM
    Motu

Motu [OP] New Member

Member:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma PreRunner
    I have a 2009 tacoma with the optional backup camera mounted in the tailgate handle. Neat idea but I should have known there would be a drawback to the novelty; lol. Since I am a structural welder and fabricator for a major bus collision facility; I have been backing buses around for the last 18 years and have yet to 'hit something'. So the actual advantage of me having a little cam in the back of my truck to 'tell me where I am' is minimal at best; hahaha.

If I would have thought about it a little 'quicker' I would have opted for no camera so that I could buy the aftermarket locking tailgate handle. Toyota wasn't quick enough on this one to remember that there are people that like to 'Borrow' Toyota truck parts............uh.. like 1000 dollar tailgates with cameras mounted in them. << So they have no security options at this time. And the Canadian Company that makes the locking accessory handles has yet to finish tooling up to make a handle that can accomodate both the backup cam and the locking handle.

So here I am with a tailgate that can be removed from my truck in 15 seconds. At Longo Toyota in El Monte California; the parts guys told me the Canadian company is rushing to address this problem(so they can make money for selling handles no doubt; since Toyota isn't doing it).