1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Looking for Advice - Buying my first Tacoma

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by TexBC, Jul 3, 2009.

1. Jul 3, 2009 at 11:22 AM
    TexBC

TexBC [OP] Wanting A Tacoma

Member:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Vehicle:
    On the prowl
    Hey everyone!

I'm sure this has been covered before, but I couldn't find anything in the "search" and am hoping you all can bear with me...

As I mentioned in my "intro" post ( http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/new-members/43243-new-member-prowl-1st-gen-taco.html ), I'm a Honda Prelude driver who has realized he has finally outgrown junior sportscars and needs a pickup.

I've spent my whole life fishing, and as I've gotten older (28 y.o. now), I've become less reckless about taking my poor little Prelude on roads she has no business being on to get to that remote river or secluded lake.

It's finally time to change, and I want to buy a 1st Gen Tacoma!

I'm hoping some of the vets out there can share some insight and knowledge as to buying my first truck... ie:

- what should I be on the lookout for when buying a Tacoma? My research has shown there are some "rust in the frame" issues, for example...
    - at what point do kilometers (sorry, miles) become an issue with these trucks?
    - and anything else you can think of, etc. :)

I'll be using it mainly for multi-day fishing trips, with some offroading (but nothing crazy), along with infrequent short in-city drives (I live in Vancouver, BC). An extended cab would be a bonus, and I'd love to have a big enough bed in the back to lay down a small foam mattress for sleeping in.