1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Maint. Req. cause of intake

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by norcalbb11, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. Jan 5, 2009 at 8:11 AM
    #1
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 [OP] Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    Hey everyone, first of all hope everyone had a great new years and christmas, anyways i went to a mechanic the other day to talk about getting my lift done and all that and then we were just talking and he was talking about the intake and i told him that i have the airaid intake and he was like oh man i hope its not an oiled filter and of course it is and he said that it will make the engine light come on because of the oil getting in and to the sensor, so i would really like to find a dry filter that will go on my airaid so i dont have to go with the AFE pro dry cause i spent around 300 for my intake already so if anyone could help me that would be great, and if its easy to clean the intake and the sensor or whatever it would be cool to find out how to do that, thanks everyone!
     
  2. Jan 5, 2009 at 8:36 AM
    #2
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight East Bound and Down

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    SE Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    Trail Limo
    Skyjacker Platinum Coilovers w/ 16" 750# King springs, Skyjacker rear leafs, FJ TRD SE wheels, 285/75/16 MTZ's, Piaa 520 Smr Driving Lights, Yakima Rack, Bestop Canopy, TRD Exhaust, TRD CAI, Kenwood DNX5120 Navi, Fog Light Mod, Driving Light Mod, BHLM, Scanguage II on Blendmount, TC uca's, ARB Heavy Duty air compressor, ARB Rear Locker, Shrockworks Rock Sliders, ARB Front Bumper, Relentless Fab Rear Bumper w/ custom bed protection, WARN M8000
    no worries norcal, what your mechanic was describing with the oiled filter only happens when the filter is over oiled. The TRD intake filter is even oiled. You should not have a problem with the airaid filter as is, factory oiled. When you do clean it just take precaution to not over spray with the recharge oil.
     
  3. Jan 5, 2009 at 8:38 AM
    #3
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Thor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,249
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    ^^^^X2

    As long as it is not over oiled, you should be fine.

    Whats the model number of the intake?

    It is easy to clean the sensor. Simply remove it and spray it with this:
    [​IMG]

    Some people use just regular electrical contact cleaner. Whats the difference between the two? No clue or than MAF cleaner is designed especially for the MAF sensor.
     
  4. Jan 5, 2009 at 9:01 AM
    #4
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 [OP] Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    yeah i havnt even re-charged it yet so i know i did'nt over oil it and ive had the intake on for about 5,000 miles and it still looks new but so im not sure why the light came on, im not sure where the sensor is located.
     
  5. Jan 5, 2009 at 9:05 AM
    #5
    j0sh

    j0sh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Member:
    #12036
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD Sport 4x4
    AFE Filter, TRD Catback
    i have had my afe intake on for close to 30k miles, and have yet to see any problems. like they said, just dont over oil it. usually after i oil mine i will take a paper towel and kinda of touch it around the filter to absorb any extra oil.
     
  6. Jan 5, 2009 at 9:18 AM
    #6
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight East Bound and Down

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    SE Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    Trail Limo
    Skyjacker Platinum Coilovers w/ 16" 750# King springs, Skyjacker rear leafs, FJ TRD SE wheels, 285/75/16 MTZ's, Piaa 520 Smr Driving Lights, Yakima Rack, Bestop Canopy, TRD Exhaust, TRD CAI, Kenwood DNX5120 Navi, Fog Light Mod, Driving Light Mod, BHLM, Scanguage II on Blendmount, TC uca's, ARB Heavy Duty air compressor, ARB Rear Locker, Shrockworks Rock Sliders, ARB Front Bumper, Relentless Fab Rear Bumper w/ custom bed protection, WARN M8000
    the sensor is located on top of the factory intake box, Your airaid probably didnt come with the intake tube did it? If it is the airaid quick fit kit Part # 510-179 then your MAF sensor is still on the factory part still there, on the lift side directly under the engine cover.
     
  7. Jan 5, 2009 at 9:38 AM
    #7
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 [OP] Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    well i know they took off the stock tube, i will have to look for the model number, i would really like to find a dry filter so i dont have to mess with the oil, the mechanic told me if i just clean the filter with soap and water and let it dry i could put a silk stalking over it and it acts like a dry filter and works great, anyone ever try that?
     
  8. Jan 5, 2009 at 9:48 AM
    #8
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight East Bound and Down

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    SE Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    Trail Limo
    Skyjacker Platinum Coilovers w/ 16" 750# King springs, Skyjacker rear leafs, FJ TRD SE wheels, 285/75/16 MTZ's, Piaa 520 Smr Driving Lights, Yakima Rack, Bestop Canopy, TRD Exhaust, TRD CAI, Kenwood DNX5120 Navi, Fog Light Mod, Driving Light Mod, BHLM, Scanguage II on Blendmount, TC uca's, ARB Heavy Duty air compressor, ARB Rear Locker, Shrockworks Rock Sliders, ARB Front Bumper, Relentless Fab Rear Bumper w/ custom bed protection, WARN M8000
    no have not tried that. AEM should have a dry filter to fit it.
     
  9. Jan 5, 2009 at 9:56 AM
    #9
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 [OP] Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    i meant stocking but you guys know what i mean haha, and ill check out the AEM filters and see if i can find one to fit, im guessing online is the best way to find one right?
     
  10. Jan 5, 2009 at 10:05 AM
    #10
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight East Bound and Down

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    SE Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    Trail Limo
    Skyjacker Platinum Coilovers w/ 16" 750# King springs, Skyjacker rear leafs, FJ TRD SE wheels, 285/75/16 MTZ's, Piaa 520 Smr Driving Lights, Yakima Rack, Bestop Canopy, TRD Exhaust, TRD CAI, Kenwood DNX5120 Navi, Fog Light Mod, Driving Light Mod, BHLM, Scanguage II on Blendmount, TC uca's, ARB Heavy Duty air compressor, ARB Rear Locker, Shrockworks Rock Sliders, ARB Front Bumper, Relentless Fab Rear Bumper w/ custom bed protection, WARN M8000
    yep AEM has all their stand alone filters listed by size, just grab your Tape measure and get a few numbers from your current filter and you should be good to go. AEM Dry Flow
     
  11. Jan 5, 2009 at 10:11 AM
    #11
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 [OP] Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    very cool, so im guessing i still need to clean the sensor to get the maintanance required light to go off right?
     
  12. Jan 5, 2009 at 10:24 AM
    #12
    spp

    spp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Member:
    #442
    Messages:
    914
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't confuse the check engine light with maintainance required which is for oil change intervals as opposed to sensor malfuntion.
     
  13. Jan 5, 2009 at 10:27 AM
    #13
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 [OP] Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    yeah i was thinking the same thing, i am going to get my oil changed this week since i am getting close to needing it done, and if it turns off then all is well but still wanted to find a dry filter so it was a win win thread for me haha, thanks.
     
  14. Jan 5, 2009 at 10:53 AM
    #14
    spp

    spp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Member:
    #442
    Messages:
    914
    Gender:
    Male
    It doesn't just turn off you have to reset it. If you get your oil changed at the dealer they should do it for you. Instructions are in the owners manual.
     
  15. Jan 5, 2009 at 1:54 PM
    #15
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 [OP] Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    well i actually got my oil changed just now at this place i always go to and the light went off so ill see if it stays off, im not use to a light coming on when i need to change my oil
     
  16. Jan 5, 2009 at 2:06 PM
    #16
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner BBC. Bring Back Clarkson Thor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    6,694
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    East Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail Edition
    Correct!

    Read this. You have to manually turn off the Maint Req light. It is an idiot light to remind you that your oil needs changing.
     
  17. Jan 6, 2009 at 6:20 PM
    #17
    spp

    spp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Member:
    #442
    Messages:
    914
    Gender:
    Male
    If the light went off it is because the guy who changed it knew enough to reset it for you. Apparent ly he knew how to RTFM.;)
     
To Top