1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need some basic help please!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by gizmotx, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. Feb 1, 2014 at 9:26 AM
    #1
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    I just need to see if y'all can help me with a couple things. I've done some research but I'm even more confused.

    I just bought a Kenwood Excelon DNX-890. I think I need to buy a couple more things before I take it to get installed. So I'm hoping you can tell me exactly what to buy.

    I want the IPOD cable but I think I need to buy that as well? Or maybe the shop can utilize my USB that's already there? Same with the aux?

    I have a Sirius module already installed. Do I need to buy anything to use the sat radio on the 890? I want to sell the Sirius module I have after everything is installed so I guess I'd need to sell the antenna as well with it. Or maybe I could just get them to use the antenna that's already on top of my truck that's being used with the module now? If that would be a lot easier, I guess I could just junk the module/give it away or sell it really cheap.

    And lastly, the brake bypass? What exactly is that and what does it do? I guess I'll try to get the rearview mirror camera wired to the HU too...

    I know this is a lot of questions but I'm very ignorant on this stuff so please help.
     
  2. Feb 1, 2014 at 10:02 AM
    #2
    btacoma

    btacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Member:
    #19776
    Messages:
    218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roger
    texas
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner DC v6 4.0L
    hankook tires pioneer avh-p4300 headunit
    Most shops wont install the brake bypass. I had a buddy of mine just ground the ebake wire from my headunit. As for the other questions not to sure. I have a pioneer head unit and to use the iPod interface the iPod cable adapter uses up the USB and aux outlets.
     
  3. Feb 1, 2014 at 1:51 PM
    #3
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    The shop might be able to use your existing USB and AUX ports on your truck. It just depends on how they're currently wired to the stock head unit. I'm not sure how they're wired. If they're hard wired, then they can't use those exact ports. However, a good install shop can put in new USB and AUX ports in the same stock location.

    If you just want to play music off an iPod or iPhone, you can use the white USB charging that came with your iPod/iPhone. The only difference between that cable and the ones you buy from car audio stores is the thickness.

    If you want to use the App Mode on your Kenwood and/or want to play video from your iPhone (has to be an iPhone 4 or 4S) then you'll need a specific cable. To make sure you're getting the right cable go here and enter your iPod or iPhone model and the model of your Kenwood.

    I've never used or installed satellite radio so I'm not sure about this one.

    The parking brake bypass is NOT necessary. By law, the bypass isn't suppose to be there anyway. For the past several years, aftermarket decks with video capabilities have required a cable be connected to the parking brake in order to play videos. That way, the parking brake has to be set for the deck to be able to play videos. The idea behind this is to prevent people from watching videos while driving. Installing a bypass on the parking brake wire allows people to watch videos while driving. In addition to videos, newer decks have features that are normally blocked when driving such as typing or menus that require a lot of attention. These features only work when the parking brake is set. People install a bypass so they can use these features while driving. You do not need a bypass. Most install shops will not install one. If you want a bypass you'll likely have to do it yourself.

    The rear view camera is easy enough to install. There are lots of videos online showing you how to install one. Just do a search and you'll find what you're looking for.
     
  4. Feb 1, 2014 at 3:30 PM
    #4
    ace96

    ace96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42591
    Messages:
    960
    Gender:
    Male
    Western KY
    Vehicle:
    '11 SWB DC TRD SPORT
    AVS bug deflector, Weathertech digital fit floor mats, TRD skid plate w/ Sockmonkey decal, HomerTaco Raptor grill, Pioneer 3500, Hybrid Audio Technology Mirus 6X9s & 6.5s, back up cam mod, Wet Okoles-front & rear, TRD exhaust, 17X9 XD Spy w/ Toyo AT2, Avid light bar
    A brake bypass will allow video to be played on the head unit while the vehicle is in motion. I did this so my daughter can watch from her car seat. For back up camera go here.

    Bought it off eBay. From this buyer.
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/ckremernimro...1&_ipg=&_from=

    He can fabricate the harness to your equipment. It is almost plug and play. There was one wire I had to cut and tap into. Instructions where pretty straight forward.

    The seller includes instructions just be sure to read them and make sure you got it down. His instructions have extra in them like how to install a new camera. It threw me a curve at first.
     
  5. Feb 2, 2014 at 3:30 PM
    #5
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    OK cool thanks.

    I would assume I need a cable for an ipod even if I were to use the existing USB and aux.

    I guess I'll just take the unit up to the shop talk to them about all these things.

    It's nice to get some info before doing so. So thanks again.
     
  6. Feb 5, 2014 at 2:15 PM
    #6
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    So I talked to an installer. He said he'd do the park bypass no problem. He said for that, rewire the camera, wire the USB and aux, ipod cable to the glove box, the NAV, steering wheel controls I'm looking probably $400. That sounds damn steep....
     
  7. Feb 5, 2014 at 3:00 PM
    #7
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    That sounds steep for installing head unit, some cables to the glove box, and a rear view camera. Shop around. I bet you'll be able to get a better price. If you're apprehensive about installing the head unit, you might just pay to get that done and then do everything else yourself. Between here and YouTube, you should find more than enough info to do all the extras.

    Also, look at this. This is just the first one I found when I googled "AUX jack port." There are others out there. Maybe even one that will fit into one of the rectangle spaces in your truck.
     
  8. Feb 5, 2014 at 3:13 PM
    #8
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    Something like this may work if you want to do it yourself. This would keep the USB and AUX jacks in the center of the dash, if that's what you're looking to do.

    Installers always recommend running the cables to the glove box because its really easy for them to do. But there are other locations the installer can run the cable if you don't want them in the glove box. I have my iPhone cable ran to the little cubby that is left of the heat/AC controls and by the ignition. In my last car, I had both the AUX and iPhone cables ran to the storage bin between the two front seats.
     
  9. Feb 5, 2014 at 3:37 PM
    #9
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    I just found this thread, luckily on the first page of the audio/video page. You might consider doing it if you don't want to pay someone to put the cables in your glove box.
     
  10. Feb 7, 2014 at 3:48 AM
    #10
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    I definitely want to do all this myself. But it would take me a while. I just don't have the time with the kids and my job. No way I'm getting a whole day (which is what it would probably take me) to do it. And you're right...especially with all the videos/DIY threads/etc showing me step by step I'm especially frustrated to spend the money.

    I did talk to another shop today. That's another thing...I'm in the middle of nowhere New Jersey. They quoted me quite a bit cheaper....but it's not a "Main" stream shop like the other one.

    Both said they could wire up the USB/Aux no problem. I didn't think about the location of the ipod too much. So now you have me thinking more about that. I'll get this done soon though.

    Thanks again so much for the help. Maybe by mid next week, I'll change my mind and take a vacation day while the family if not home and do it. What worries me is that I spend all day and then don't have it done lol. Guess I could still drive it if that happened...
     
  11. Feb 7, 2014 at 4:38 AM
    #11
    ace96

    ace96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42591
    Messages:
    960
    Gender:
    Male
    Western KY
    Vehicle:
    '11 SWB DC TRD SPORT
    AVS bug deflector, Weathertech digital fit floor mats, TRD skid plate w/ Sockmonkey decal, HomerTaco Raptor grill, Pioneer 3500, Hybrid Audio Technology Mirus 6X9s & 6.5s, back up cam mod, Wet Okoles-front & rear, TRD exhaust, 17X9 XD Spy w/ Toyo AT2, Avid light bar
    I did the install myself. New head unit, brake bypass, steering controls, back up cam conversion....took approximately 4 hours. I highly suggest Tacotunes website, they have videos and pictures on how to install. I went with their steering controls adapter cause they set it up to be plug and play. One piece of advice...make sure you remove any cd's from old head unit before you power down....:rolleyes:
     
  12. Feb 7, 2014 at 10:56 PM
    #12
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    It helps a lot to have everything planned out on projects like this. At least for me it does. When I plan it out/study everything these types of project generally go much, much smoother and quicker.

    If you're going to use an iPod, the glove box is a great place to run the cable. But if you're using a phone, having to open the glove box all the time gets pretty old.
     
  13. Feb 12, 2014 at 1:41 PM
    #13
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    OK so I have the Headunit. I went with the 9990HD instead. It's a newer model and is supposed to have a better Bluetooth.

    I have the Sat tuner, IPOD cable, a relay for the park bypass and the harness for the steering wheel controls. I spoke to the shop about the USB/Aux so I guess we'll so how that goes. He said $200 for everything.

    Thanks for all the help again..
     
  14. Feb 12, 2014 at 3:28 PM
    #14
    AEmedic

    AEmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Member:
    #114034
    Messages:
    660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Patrick AFB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB 4X4 TRD Sport Supercharged
    TRD Supercharger, Toytec Adj. Coil-Overs, Biliistein 5100's, JL Audio system w/Kenwood DNX9980HD HU
    With the two of these, supposedly, both USB and Aux are functional...


    Metra Steering wheel interface: AXXESS ASWC-1

    Metra USB Adapter: AX-TOYUSB
     
  15. Feb 13, 2014 at 5:35 AM
    #15
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    OK so I ordered the USB adapter. So you're saying I could use the AXXESS ASWC-1 solely for the Aux?
     
  16. Feb 13, 2014 at 6:59 AM
    #16
    AEmedic

    AEmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Member:
    #114034
    Messages:
    660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Patrick AFB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB 4X4 TRD Sport Supercharged
    TRD Supercharger, Toytec Adj. Coil-Overs, Biliistein 5100's, JL Audio system w/Kenwood DNX9980HD HU
    One of the posts on the forum said something about keeping the aux funtion with that interface. I should be installing mine in the next few weeks...we'll see!
     
  17. Feb 13, 2014 at 8:51 AM
    #17
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    I ordered the ASWC too. Expensive for just retaining the Aux. But I'd probably pay that much in the end to get the shop to hard wire it anyway...
     
  18. Feb 13, 2014 at 11:06 AM
    #18
    AEmedic

    AEmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Member:
    #114034
    Messages:
    660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Patrick AFB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB 4X4 TRD Sport Supercharged
    TRD Supercharger, Toytec Adj. Coil-Overs, Biliistein 5100's, JL Audio system w/Kenwood DNX9980HD HU
    Lets hope it works!
     
  19. Feb 13, 2014 at 12:45 PM
    #19
    gizmotx

    gizmotx [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Member:
    #112356
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    13 Texas edition SR5 V6 4X4
    I'm bringing the shop everything they need....even if that part doesn't work for the aux....I'm sure he can figure something out....but if someone says it does...I'm sure it will. I'll post an update as soon as I get everything in....can't wait!!
     
  20. Feb 13, 2014 at 1:12 PM
    #20
    ace96

    ace96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42591
    Messages:
    960
    Gender:
    Male
    Western KY
    Vehicle:
    '11 SWB DC TRD SPORT
    AVS bug deflector, Weathertech digital fit floor mats, TRD skid plate w/ Sockmonkey decal, HomerTaco Raptor grill, Pioneer 3500, Hybrid Audio Technology Mirus 6X9s & 6.5s, back up cam mod, Wet Okoles-front & rear, TRD exhaust, 17X9 XD Spy w/ Toyo AT2, Avid light bar
    Yes, it works for the Aux and your steering wheel controls.
     
To Top