1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OBD Fusion Dashboard Swappin' Thread

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by RushT, Sep 4, 2020.

  1. Apr 14, 2021 at 2:22 PM
    #81
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    22,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Agreed. I just had no real knowledge what it would show until we tried it. I was hoping that maybe BT 4.0 would be faster than my ancient one.

    That makes sense.

    Yeah. BT is a pretty narrow bandwidth, but it was our only shot at remote diagnosis as the guy is a bit south of me. Weekday traffic sucks! He's back to Stock now trying to get the dealer to try some TS logging, esp as I don't think it is the TC. Same 10hz-ish vibes at 30 or 70. TC showing locked consistently would eliminate it.

    Tires were checked twice, though I did recommend a cross rotation test. Either way with wheel balance, the vibes would increase and maybe disappear at different speeds.
     
  2. May 4, 2021 at 6:05 PM
    #82
    Lt. Dangle

    Lt. Dangle RIP @stun gun 2016-2020

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Member:
    #208645
    Messages:
    4,523
    Here
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRDOR
    RIP Stun gun bumper sticker
    Torque and OBD fusion combined would be almost the perfect app. I like things about both, but use OBD more since it has more functions. Torque has better gauges.

    I also like that I can connect to Torque in motion, where my OBD only connects while stopped.
     
  3. May 4, 2021 at 8:55 PM
    #83
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,208
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    Hmmmm, I can connect to OBD on the fly if necessary. I generally launch when I pull out, but sometimes I get sidetracked and it's a bit down the road before I connect.
     
  4. May 4, 2021 at 9:00 PM
    #84
    Lt. Dangle

    Lt. Dangle RIP @stun gun 2016-2020

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Member:
    #208645
    Messages:
    4,523
    Here
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRDOR
    RIP Stun gun bumper sticker
    Mine doesn't. I'll try fiddling with it.
     
  5. May 5, 2021 at 6:30 AM
    #85
    AbnMP13

    AbnMP13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Member:
    #340464
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shelby
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Crew Long Bed
    I can connect on the fly too.

    What phone do you have? Sounds like a safety setting to me.
     
  6. May 5, 2021 at 8:57 AM
    #86
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,208
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    Works on both 8 & 12 from my experiences.
     
  7. May 5, 2021 at 11:36 AM
    #87
    Lt. Dangle

    Lt. Dangle RIP @stun gun 2016-2020

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Member:
    #208645
    Messages:
    4,523
    Here
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRDOR
    RIP Stun gun bumper sticker
    Note 9. I get a communication error fault. Torque connects though...? It's not a big deal, I tend to not fiddle with my phone in motion anyways and would rather get it set before I go.
     
To Top