1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OBD Fusion Dashboard Swappin' Thread

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by RushT, Sep 4, 2020.

  1. Apr 14, 2021 at 2:22 PM
    #81
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    22,556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Agreed. I just had no real knowledge what it would show until we tried it. I was hoping that maybe BT 4.0 would be faster than my ancient one.

    That makes sense.

    Yeah. BT is a pretty narrow bandwidth, but it was our only shot at remote diagnosis as the guy is a bit south of me. Weekday traffic sucks! He's back to Stock now trying to get the dealer to try some TS logging, esp as I don't think it is the TC. Same 10hz-ish vibes at 30 or 70. TC showing locked consistently would eliminate it.

    Tires were checked twice, though I did recommend a cross rotation test. Either way with wheel balance, the vibes would increase and maybe disappear at different speeds.
     
  2. May 4, 2021 at 6:05 PM
    #82
    Lt. Dangle

    Lt. Dangle RIP @stun gun 2016-2020

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Member:
    #208645
    Messages:
    4,585
    Here
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRDOR
    RIP Stun gun bumper sticker
    Torque and OBD fusion combined would be almost the perfect app. I like things about both, but use OBD more since it has more functions. Torque has better gauges.

    I also like that I can connect to Torque in motion, where my OBD only connects while stopped.
     
  3. May 4, 2021 at 8:55 PM
    #83
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,231
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    Hmmmm, I can connect to OBD on the fly if necessary. I generally launch when I pull out, but sometimes I get sidetracked and it's a bit down the road before I connect.
     
  4. May 4, 2021 at 9:00 PM
    #84
    Lt. Dangle

    Lt. Dangle RIP @stun gun 2016-2020

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Member:
    #208645
    Messages:
    4,585
    Here
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRDOR
    RIP Stun gun bumper sticker
    Mine doesn't. I'll try fiddling with it.
     
  5. May 5, 2021 at 6:30 AM
    #85
    AbnMP13

    AbnMP13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Member:
    #340464
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shelby
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Crew Long Bed
    I can connect on the fly too.

    What phone do you have? Sounds like a safety setting to me.
     
  6. May 5, 2021 at 8:57 AM
    #86
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,231
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    Works on both 8 & 12 from my experiences.
     
  7. May 5, 2021 at 11:36 AM
    #87
    Lt. Dangle

    Lt. Dangle RIP @stun gun 2016-2020

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Member:
    #208645
    Messages:
    4,585
    Here
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRDOR
    RIP Stun gun bumper sticker
    Note 9. I get a communication error fault. Torque connects though...? It's not a big deal, I tend to not fiddle with my phone in motion anyways and would rather get it set before I go.
     
  8. May 7, 2021 at 10:45 AM
    #88
    brentano

    brentano Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Member:
    #198952
    Messages:
    136
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD OR AC SSM
    Here is a base @RushT inspired OBDII towing display with some additions. The source is here.

    Done for a second gen iPhone SE in landscape mode under IOS 14.

    My additions:
    • Altimeter display (this comes directly from the iPhone, not the OBDII)
    • Imbedded gear and digital RPM in center dial
    • Colorful warning bezel: green, yellow, orange, red
    • Easter egg: center ring bezel goes red when in 4WD
    • With additional hardware, will properly mirror to '17 Taco OEM head unit display
    OBDII Display.jpg
     
  9. May 7, 2021 at 11:42 AM
    #89
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,231
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    Super nice work!

    Let’s talk about that mirroring huh? How do you change sources from OEM to mirror? Does it scale to aspect on dash?
     
  10. May 7, 2021 at 6:33 PM
    #90
    brentano

    brentano Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Member:
    #198952
    Messages:
    136
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD OR AC SSM
    It scales nicely with no OBDLink source changes. The head unit is set to A/V input (provided by Avity firmware) and the display is set to “zoom”. My mirroring is done with an Apple HDMI adapter and a wired Avity-01 kit.
     
  11. May 7, 2021 at 7:18 PM
    #91
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,231
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    @brentano,

    So Avity has to do a firmware update on the head unit? Is that included in the cost of the harness? If so, it looks like about $200 before taxes for the harness and the apple hdmi.

    I wonder how many harnesses I can daisy chain off the back of my head unit. I have a germes, about to have another for the navigation inepterrupt, and this would make three!
     
  12. May 7, 2021 at 10:12 PM
    #92
    brentano

    brentano Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Member:
    #198952
    Messages:
    136
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD OR AC SSM
    No, a head unit firmware update does not take place. I believe it simply enables the A/V input already present in the head unit.

    I also have a GermesLab front/rear camera set up and a nav override system and they play together nicely daisy chained with the Avity to the HU.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2021
    RushT [OP] likes this.
  13. May 14, 2021 at 7:31 PM
    #93
    nxcess

    nxcess Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Member:
    #140482
    Messages:
    343
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '17 Tacoma MT 4x4
    OVTuned
    IMG_0022.jpg

    1. iPhone 11 Pro Max
    2. OBD Fusion 5.16.0.1226
    3. PID
    · Engine Power: Calculated PIDs
    · Misfire: Toyota, Lexus, Scion / Engine / All Cylinders Misfire Count
    · Engine Torque: Calculated PIDs
    · GPS Speed: GPS / GPS Speed
    · RPM: SAE PIDs / Engine RPM
    · Load: Toyota, Lexus, Scion / Engine / Calculated Load
    · Air Fuel: Calculated PIDs
    · Throttle: SAE PIDs / Absolute Throttle Position
    · Intake VVT: Toyota, Lexus, Scion / Engine / Intake VVT Change Angle Bank 1
    · Fuel Ratio: Fuel / Fuel Rate
    · Intake VVT: Toyota, Lexus, Scion / Engine / Exhaust VVT Change Angle Bank 1​
    4. File link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/oqkcgjxe3643yde/OBD Fusion iOS Settings 2021-05-14 210727.stg?dl=0
    5. I replicated this dashboard off an image search. Left radials gauge increases from left to right. Right radials increases from right to left.
     
    RushT [OP] likes this.
  14. May 14, 2021 at 10:59 PM
    #94
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,231
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    Nice vertical. And an interesting selection of PIDs. What’s your refresh rate like? I have about the same number of gauges and I’m about 1 per 1.5-2.0 seconds.
     
  15. May 15, 2021 at 5:30 AM
    #95
    nxcess

    nxcess Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Member:
    #140482
    Messages:
    343
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '17 Tacoma MT 4x4
    OVTuned
    First time using OBD Fusion so I'm not sure what all it can display. My refresh rate appears to be around 2 seconds. Is there a way to increase it to 1 sec?
     
  16. May 15, 2021 at 7:28 AM
    #96
    RushT

    RushT [OP] Amateur Everythingist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    4,231
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    '18 DCSB TRDOR Inferno
    I think it’s a limitation of the system. It’s a query/receive and the Toyota bus rate isn’t the fastest from what I understand. I’d love to learn otherwise though.

    Whenever I do logging, I usually make a dashboard with only what I want to see.
     
To Top