1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Resetting factory tpms?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by jetmagnum, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. Oct 29, 2009 at 7:38 AM
    #1
    jetmagnum

    jetmagnum [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19420
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    NEW JERSEY
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD SPORT
    I just mounted 285's on my stock 17" rims. Tried to go throught the recalibration procedure in the owners manual but its not working. When i turn the key to the "on" position the light just blinks for like 20 seconds....

    Help?
     
  2. Oct 29, 2009 at 7:58 AM
    #2
    ramjm_2000

    ramjm_2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Member:
    #6303
    Messages:
    184
    Gender:
    Male
    NoVa (Alexandria VA)
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5 DoubleCab BSP
    5100's Rear TSB Dominator slider/step bars Eclipse AVN 2210 Nav/XM Leather Upgrade TRD Skid Century Royal Sheel Armor Tech Custom Rear Bumper
    Could one of the TPMS units have been damaged during install? I've heard of several folks having that problem. Goodluck
     
  3. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:05 AM
    #3
    jetmagnum

    jetmagnum [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19420
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    NEW JERSEY
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD SPORT
    None of the sensors were visually damaged, how would i tell if they were damaged internally?
     
  4. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:23 AM
    #4
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,258
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    Did you check the spare tire pressure also? I believe the dealership can run some sort of scanner to see if one is defective.
     
  5. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:26 AM
    #5
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
    09's dont have the tmps on the spare, most likely your sensors need to be reprogrammed....
     
  6. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:28 AM
    #6
    jetmagnum

    jetmagnum [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19420
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    NEW JERSEY
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD SPORT
    How do i reprogram them?
     
  7. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:35 AM
    #7
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
    dealership....
     
  8. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:37 AM
    #8
    geolink

    geolink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16653
    Messages:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    SILVER STATE
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB MagGray TRD SPORT
    Weathertech mats and hood protector, RuffTuff seat covers, padded console, Redline Hood Struts, Snugtop canopy w/Thule Rack, TSB rear springs plus AAL, 5100's all around OME 885 front coils, LR UCA, Avid Step Bars, LT265/70R17 BFG AT on stock Sport Rims
    News to me.
    Respectfully, where did you get that information?

    09 TRD Sport
     
  9. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:42 AM
    #9
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
    I think i read it somewhere around this place, and the toyota service guy told me also... of course i trust more the info on this site than a toyota service guy... :D
     
  10. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:43 AM
    #10
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
  11. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:54 AM
    #11
    geolink

    geolink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16653
    Messages:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    SILVER STATE
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB MagGray TRD SPORT
    Weathertech mats and hood protector, RuffTuff seat covers, padded console, Redline Hood Struts, Snugtop canopy w/Thule Rack, TSB rear springs plus AAL, 5100's all around OME 885 front coils, LR UCA, Avid Step Bars, LT265/70R17 BFG AT on stock Sport Rims
  12. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:57 AM
    #12
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,341
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
    yeah, if it has the metal stem with a nut, then its a tmps, strange that you have it
     
  13. Oct 29, 2009 at 9:03 AM
    #13
    geolink

    geolink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16653
    Messages:
    276
    Gender:
    Male
    SILVER STATE
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB MagGray TRD SPORT
    Weathertech mats and hood protector, RuffTuff seat covers, padded console, Redline Hood Struts, Snugtop canopy w/Thule Rack, TSB rear springs plus AAL, 5100's all around OME 885 front coils, LR UCA, Avid Step Bars, LT265/70R17 BFG AT on stock Sport Rims
    Strange, yes.
    Maybe not having that tire "sensed" would be better.
    Must have been some thought behind that decision.

    Have a good day!
     
  14. Oct 29, 2009 at 9:19 AM
    #14
    jetmagnum

    jetmagnum [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19420
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    NEW JERSEY
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD SPORT
    Ok, so since my tpms light just blinks it means that the system needs to be reprogrammed. The only way to do this is at the dealer? Is this correct?
     
  15. Oct 30, 2009 at 4:09 AM
    #15
    FoxySandChick

    FoxySandChick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Member:
    #9505
    Messages:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Kristin
    Henderson, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 Base model V6 Impulse Red Pearl
    De-badged, limo tint, black wet okole's, weathertechs, extra d-rings, TSB bilsteins
    If it blinks that means one of them is damaged, if it has been damaged and repaired at a tire shop then it could need to be reprogrammed at the dealership....basically blinking TPMS= visit to dealer.
     
  16. Oct 30, 2009 at 5:45 AM
    #16
    Gingrbredman

    Gingrbredman Love the Tick!

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Member:
    #19469
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    G
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab Sport 4WD
    Its funny that tire shops cant reprogram these. Discount Tire and places like that sell the TPMS with new tires. Why sell them in the new wheels if they can't program them?
     
  17. Oct 30, 2009 at 6:35 AM
    #17
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,750
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    X2. Mine is blinking on the Tundra. It came on at 85K give or take. They have batteries in them. It could be just that simple.
     
  18. Oct 30, 2009 at 11:37 AM
    #18
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    i have a 09 dc 4x4 sport, no tpms on spare on my truck.
     
  19. Oct 30, 2009 at 11:41 AM
    #19
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    i know some guys put all 4 tpms sensors in the spare tire.
     
  20. Oct 30, 2009 at 11:45 AM
    #20
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    yes dealership can scan each sensor,it tells you sensor id numbers,actual tire pressure,temperature,and battery life.:D
     
To Top