1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Switch wire question

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Tacomike18, Jul 18, 2020.

  1. Jul 18, 2020 at 8:52 PM
    #1
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    I bought this switch, I know one is ground (prob the black wire), one is power (one of the red wires), one is the backlight, but what is the 4th wire for and which wire is which? There is a green wire, two red wires, and a black wire. Thanks in advance.818BA744-E90F-4AF3-9102-443D33A5C139.jpgECFB18B4-5AAD-4EEC-9388-45DC6BB9683C.jpg
     
  2. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:04 PM
    #2
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    4,828
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
  3. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:10 PM
    #3
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
  4. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:21 PM
    #4
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    4,828
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    Correct, the fuse typically goes before the switch.
    The switch above, is only rated at 3a. And is generally used with a relay.
    Depending on how you wire the switch, you may not need to add a fuse.
    You could use an existing fused circuit in the truck. Such as the dome light or tail light.

    If you draw power straight from the battery to the switch, you should add a fuse.
    3A is not a lot, I’d probably go with a relay.
     
  5. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:23 PM
    #5
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    Thanks. I’ve recently added a front camera and figuring out the switch is the last part.
     
  6. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:32 PM
    #6
    TacoParty2020

    TacoParty2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2020
    Member:
    #327219
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma TRD Pro Army Green
    I not that saavy when it comes to wiring. Where would red 2 wire to? where exactly would the dash light circuit be?
     
    davidstacoma likes this.
  7. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:36 PM
    #7
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    On the auto high beam push button, I’m going to put a test light with dash lights on and switch off to figure out which wire powers on with the dash light and possibly just alligator clip to it. I plan on putting the switch next to the auto high beam.
     
  8. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:38 PM
    #8
    JaCado

    JaCado I make bad choices

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195947
    Messages:
    38,115
    G8R_Taco and TnShooter like this.
  9. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:42 PM
    #9
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    4,828
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
  10. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:43 PM
    #10
    JaCado

    JaCado I make bad choices

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195947
    Messages:
    38,115
    OP in that thread wired it to constant hot (always lit) though. I think they got it sorted out.
     
    TnShooter likes this.
  11. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:49 PM
    #11
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    Honestly, I just want to have the switch operational and I’m prob just going to ignore the illuminate with dash light function for now.
     
    TnShooter and JaCado like this.
  12. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:51 PM
    #12
    JaCado

    JaCado I make bad choices

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195947
    Messages:
    38,115
    Basically it's a fuse tap on a circuit that's only on when the truck is on.
     
    TnShooter likes this.
  13. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:57 PM
    #13
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    So if I tap into the obd 7.5 amp fuse in the driver footwell area, it would light up only when the key is in the on position or engine on then?
     
    JaCado likes this.
  14. Jul 18, 2020 at 9:59 PM
    #14
    JaCado

    JaCado I make bad choices

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195947
    Messages:
    38,115
    Pretty sure that's correct. Just need to supply the illumination light with power when the truck is on.
     
    TnShooter likes this.
  15. Jul 18, 2020 at 10:01 PM
    #15
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    I will try that. Btw I hear that fuse box lid in the driver footwell is a pita to get off and hear people have broken the tabs.
     
    JaCado likes this.
  16. Jul 18, 2020 at 10:03 PM
    #16
    JaCado

    JaCado I make bad choices

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195947
    Messages:
    38,115
    Yes it is and it won't fit back on after putting the fuse tap on. Meso makes a modified one that fits
     
  17. Jul 18, 2020 at 10:06 PM
    #17
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    That’s what the glove box is for, I’ve put so many small parts in there that don’t fit anymore after mods.
     
    JaCado likes this.
  18. Jul 18, 2020 at 10:07 PM
    #18
    JaCado

    JaCado I make bad choices

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195947
    Messages:
    38,115
    Btw....:hattip:
    Neighbor.
     
  19. Jul 19, 2020 at 8:06 AM
    #19
    Tacomike18

    Tacomike18 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #270886
    Messages:
    1,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    2018 toyota tacoma sr 2.7
    Maybe you could help me out here, here is the switch I’m replacing. Which wire is ground and which is power. I read online that black is power and red is ground but isn’t red usually power?image.jpg
     
  20. Jul 19, 2020 at 8:22 AM
    #20
    JaCado

    JaCado I make bad choices

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195947
    Messages:
    38,115
    Do you have a voltage meter?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top