1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Torque Bluetooth OBD II Android App

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by junkman, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. Dec 12, 2012 at 6:58 AM
    #1
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    Ok, I just got my bluetooth OBD II reader (Amazon)

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_1_3?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=obd+ii+bluetooth&sprefix=obd%2Caps%2C256

    and the Torque Android App (Google Play)

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.prowl.torque&feature=search_result#?t=W10..

    I am still learning how to set up and use the program but wanted to start a thread to document the application as I learn and hopefully get others interested in this product.

    I WILL UPDATE THIS POST AS I CAN AND AS I LEARN SO CHECK HERE OFTEN IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

    I will also try to respond to questions within the thread.

    The app is pretty powerful and not only read and clear fault codes but can display real time OBD information on your andriod phone or tablet. ( I have connected both my phone and tablet) In addition, it can log information as you travel and overlay it the data on google maps within the app or export the data.

    The app alows you to choose what sensors you want to display and how you want to display it (different size gauges/needle gauges/digital/bar graphs etc.) There are different themes you can install that change the look of the gauges. or if you are into it, you can design your own theme.


    Here is what I have set up at the moment on my real time display (not connected to the OBD when I did the screenshot so showing no data.) I really don't need the speed info but want to get a feel for how the GPS speed and the OBD speed line up. There is also a gauge that will display the difference between OBD and GPS speeds.

    The fuel remaining and distance to empty are a bit disappointing as they are calculated by the program and not provided by the OBD. You have to input the % remaining fuel in the vehicle profile and that will drive those displays. It is ok I guess, but not as good as it could be.

    The Transmission sensor data may not be accurate for my 5-speed manual. I am not sure if the transmission has a sensor! The PID (that is the programming behind the displayed info) I used was one I found for the Tacoma's with automatic transmissions.

    [​IMG]

    Different Theme - same screen

    [​IMG]


    There is also a HUD toggle-

    [​IMG]

    In the above screen shot you can see there are 7 screens available to me to display real time information. This can be set as anything from 1 to 15 screens (odd numbers only) so there is the possibilty to dedicate screens to groups of sensors. 15 screens would be way more than you need.


    You can create vehicle profiles for use in all you vehicles and those profiles can show different information/themes etc. Moving from vehicle to vehicle is as simple as unpluging the reader from one and pluging into the other.


    Trip log - This is a trip log on google maps. You can show on basic map as here or on satellite map. The trip log is automatic unless you disable it. This log is tracking speed only but you can add any sensor you wish to the log.

    [​IMG]

    When you zoom in you can see each data point.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Dec 12, 2012 at 7:02 AM
    #2
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    3,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    '07 FJ
    Which OBD scanner did you buy? I am interested in this.
     
  3. Dec 12, 2012 at 7:08 AM
    #3
    rockgecko03

    rockgecko03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Member:
    #32106
    Messages:
    1,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    crawl-o-rado
    Vehicle:
    92 4runner
    Welcome to Beater-ville!
  4. Dec 12, 2012 at 7:10 AM
    #4
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    I bought the BAFX

    http://www.amazon.com/BAFX-Products...d=1355324844&sr=8-1&keywords=obd+ii+bluetooth

    It is a little more expensive than some others but the customer service seems pretty good. They respond very positively on the amazon reviews and seem genuinely helpful. I think that all of the sub $25 ones are pretty much the same, although some of the cheap ones have spotty reviews.

    The Torque developer has a list of the various obd II devices that are supported. Some of the nicer ones may be more expensive. I will try to find the link to that.
     
  5. Dec 12, 2012 at 7:21 AM
    #5
    rockgecko03

    rockgecko03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Member:
    #32106
    Messages:
    1,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    crawl-o-rado
    Vehicle:
    92 4runner
    Welcome to Beater-ville!
    This looks like a perfect stocking stuffer item.
     
  6. Dec 12, 2012 at 7:30 AM
    #6
    mgrande

    mgrande iKill

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Member:
    #15830
    Messages:
    5,433
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD off road
    Kings, AP 3" leaf pack, timbrens front and rear, TC UCA's, pro comp 7189's, baja ATZ's, CBI sliders and rear, relentless front, dynomax catback
    I love this app. Check out the track recorder plug in
     
  7. Dec 12, 2012 at 7:58 AM
    #7
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    It is super cool for the $.
     
  8. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:09 PM
    #8
    deeznutz

    deeznutz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20585
    Messages:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    Seattle, WA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 DC LB 4x4
    Can anyone post a pic on where the BT unit hooks up to?
     
  9. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:14 PM
    #9
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    The exact spot depends on the year I believe, my 2013 is left of the driver knee, about half way from my knee to the door. When the unit is inserted, it sticks out under the lower dash cover about 1/2 inch.
     
  10. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:20 PM
    #10
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    Here - it is the small black rectangle

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:27 PM
    #11
    Dark_Taco

    Dark_Taco Feed him a hammer, he'd crap out nails.

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Member:
    #7576
    Messages:
    725
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08' TRD Rugged Trail Edition
    That looks like it sticks out pretty far....Or is that just the camera angle?
     
  12. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:32 PM
    #12
    deeznutz

    deeznutz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20585
    Messages:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    Seattle, WA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 DC LB 4x4
    That's the bluetooth unit or the unit that it connects to? Never been under there so I don't know.
     
  13. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:34 PM
    #13
    Manwithoutaplan

    Manwithoutaplan the full Monty

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Member:
    #4500
    Messages:
    45,649
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma Speedway Blue Trd 4x4
    -Nitro 4.56 gears - Arb Front and Rear lockers. -Rear Swing out bumper Curiosity of ( Dept .94) https://www.facebook.com/Dept94 -Tinted, -ProComp 6 inch lift with Icon Coil overs and Bilstein's 7100Resi -315/70/17 - 17x8 in Pro Comp Matte black rims 4.5 bs -East Coast Gear Supply Sliders -ALL Pro EXP LEaf pack -Camburg UCA's -CAB mount CHOP
  14. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:37 PM
    #14
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,325
    Gender:
    Male
  15. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:37 PM
    #15
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,325
    Gender:
    Male
    OBD2 port.
     
  16. Dec 12, 2012 at 3:45 PM
    #16
    TruckyTruck

    TruckyTruck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Member:
    #78304
    Messages:
    487
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Crewmax TSS Off-Road 4x4, sr5/leather
    does this one have an auto shut off? I couldnt tell from amazon. I dont want a dead battery. pretty cool app.
     
  17. Dec 12, 2012 at 4:20 PM
    #17
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    It is just the camera angle. On the 2013 it only sticks out 1/2 inch, may 1 inch. Not much at all.
     
  18. Dec 12, 2012 at 4:21 PM
    #18
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    The software has an option to turn the OBD chip off but whether it works properly I don't know. I do know that the reader gets power from pin 16 and that a switch can be added if you are crafty to be able to fully cut power.
     
  19. Dec 12, 2012 at 4:22 PM
    #19
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    That is the blue tooth reader. The port is under the lower dash so you can't see it.
     
  20. Dec 13, 2012 at 3:07 PM
    #20
    junkman

    junkman [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91956
    Messages:
    365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Louisville
    Vehicle:
    '13 SR5 4x4 5 speed Access Cab
    OK, having some issues. The average MPG is not being retained. When I leave the app it resets. Not sure why? Anyone have a clue on this?
     
To Top