1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS cloning and/or reprogramming

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Kevin8se7en, Jan 31, 2020.

  1. Jan 31, 2020 at 7:03 AM
    #1
    Kevin8se7en

    Kevin8se7en [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Member:
    #245908
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno OR
    TL;DR - jump to bold

    I live in a cold climate with lots of snow, so I need 2 sets of tires. I prefer having 2 sets of rims, but it costs $65/seasonal changeover for my dealer to reprogram my sensors every time (on top of the cost of the wheel swap itself). I'd like to avoid paying that and just do it myself.

    Most of the TPMS threads I've seen are a few years old, and a lot of the stuff mentioned now has new models (such as clone tools). I figured it's been a while, so I should ask for a more up to date answer. The last comprehensive one I could find was for the 2nd gen. Thinking this could be a solid sticky thread if we get some good info (in which case I'd update this post).

    Option 1: Cloning OEM TPMS IDs on to a 2nd set of TPMS sensors.
    Has anyone successfully done this themselves? If so, which clone tool did you use and which TPMS sensors (oem?). Please provide links and/or model numbers if possible.

    Option 2: Reprogramming truck to accept some new TPMS IDs.
    Has anyone successfully done this themselves? If so, what tool did you use to reprogram the ECU to accept the new TPMS IDs, and which TPMS sensors did you use? Please provide links and/or model numbers if possible.

    The following is a great answer for option 2:
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2020
  2. Jan 31, 2020 at 9:16 AM
    #2
    rcwhat

    rcwhat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Member:
    #312797
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    20 trd or
    Bump because I’d also like to know the answer
     
    Kevin8se7en [OP] likes this.
  3. Jan 31, 2020 at 9:17 AM
    #3
    Cudgel

    Cudgel “Tonka”

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Member:
    #214640
    Messages:
    3,152
    Gender:
    Male
    Live in: An Ocean of Plastic Trash
    Vehicle:
    2017 OR DCLB
    ICON8 Lift -285s. upTOPoverland rack.
    By an Autel and reprogram as needed. Be sure they are compatible. See my build thread on the TPMS challenge.
     
  4. Jan 31, 2020 at 9:18 AM
    #4
    Rawdoggy

    Rawdoggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2020
    Member:
    #315438
    Messages:
    535
    I am in the same damn boat. It’s such a costly and tricky subject.
     
    Kevin8se7en [OP] likes this.
  5. Jan 31, 2020 at 9:19 AM
    #5
    Shellshock

    Shellshock King Shit of Turd Island

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Member:
    #170338
    Messages:
    13,834
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD OR MT QUICKSAND
    Pretty sure you can program them with Techstream. If I remember right you can have sensors for 2 full sets programmed for the truck.
     
    GreyBaldTaco likes this.
  6. Jan 31, 2020 at 9:53 AM
    #6
    Kevin8se7en

    Kevin8se7en [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Member:
    #245908
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno OR
  7. Jan 31, 2020 at 10:08 AM
    #7
    ozland

    ozland Hillbilly

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Member:
    #307723
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    Bentonville, Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    17 DCSB TRD OR 4x4 Silver
    Icon, Method
    [​IMG]
    MAXITPMS TS508K Premium Kit
     
    Kevin8se7en [OP] likes this.
  8. Jan 31, 2020 at 11:22 AM
    #8
    RichVT

    RichVT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146329
    Messages:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4X4 AC Grey
    I bought new OEM sensors from Tire Rack for my second set of wheels. They're currently $42 each.

    https://www.tirerack.com/tpms/resul...coma+4WD&autoYear=2017&autoModClar=Double+Cab

    To reprogram the ECU, I got the ATEQ quickset tool.

    https://www.tirerack.com/accessories/detail.jsp?ID=2115&brand=ATEQ&cat=TPMS+Tool

    This tool requires that you know the sensor ID numbers of the new set of sensors so you need to write down the ID numbers before you have your tires mounted or a tire shop can use a trigger tool to read the sensor ID's after the tires are mounted.
     
  9. Jan 31, 2020 at 11:26 AM
    #9
    3_TACOS_NEVER_ENOUGH

    3_TACOS_NEVER_ENOUGH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Member:
    #233163
    Messages:
    445
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ︻╦╤─
    Austin, TX & San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    ︻╦╤─
    ︻╦╤─
    interesting thread, this is....
     
  10. Jan 31, 2020 at 11:38 AM
    #10
    ozland

    ozland Hillbilly

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Member:
    #307723
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    Bentonville, Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    17 DCSB TRD OR 4x4 Silver
    Icon, Method

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Jan 31, 2020 at 8:42 PM
    #11
    Kevin8se7en

    Kevin8se7en [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Member:
    #245908
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno OR
    This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks so much!
     
  12. Jan 31, 2020 at 8:55 PM
    #12
    Rawdoggy

    Rawdoggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2020
    Member:
    #315438
    Messages:
    535
    so these sensors unlike others can be programmed by pretty much anywhere? Unlike oroteks
     
  13. Feb 1, 2020 at 5:12 AM
    #13
    Big tall dave

    Big tall dave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Member:
    #269210
    Messages:
    426
    Gender:
    Male
    Elora, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    I did Option2 and bought sensors from Discount Tire for about $20-25 each. Then a Launch hand-held scanner from Amazon for $240. I wrote down all the sensor ID’s (for a few vehicles I take care of) and just reprogram the vehicles ECU’s with the scanner each time I switch wheels.
    Pretty easy and cheaper in the long run than paying for a garage to do it twice per year....



     
    Kevin8se7en [OP] likes this.
  14. Feb 1, 2020 at 5:24 AM
    #14
    RichVT

    RichVT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146329
    Messages:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4X4 AC Grey
    You don't program the sensors. All you do is load the ID numbers of the new sensors into the truck's ECU using a tool that plugs into the OBD2 port.
     
    ozland likes this.
  15. Feb 1, 2020 at 6:57 AM
    #15
    Rawdoggy

    Rawdoggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2020
    Member:
    #315438
    Messages:
    535
    Ah. What’s the cheapest tool to do this?
    Basically just jeep track of the numbers and your good to go.
     
  16. Feb 1, 2020 at 7:10 AM
    #16
    RichVT

    RichVT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146329
    Messages:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4X4 AC Grey
    I don't know what the cheapest tool is. I have the ATEQ Quickset but there weren't too many options back in 2016. It might depend on whether you want a tool that can do other things as well like Techstream or Carista.

    I wrote the ID numbers of the sensors on the inside of each wheel using a Sharpie but I also have a trigger tool that can read them.
     
    Big tall dave likes this.
  17. Feb 1, 2020 at 7:26 AM
    #17
    Joe671

    Joe671 YouTube Mechanic

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Member:
    #299650
    Messages:
    314
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Is this right? When I put my 33's on the truck i had to get them programmed to the truck. Does this mean the stocks are still in the ECU memory as well?
    Edit- Reason i ask is because I see some write the sensor numbers down so they can program them to the ECU everytime they swap sets. If you can store up to 2 full sets then you should be able to swap sets and hit the button below the steering wheel right?
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2020
  18. Feb 1, 2020 at 12:00 PM
    #18
    Can't Blame The Dog

    Can't Blame The Dog Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Member:
    #254217
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD SPORT. 4x4 DCLB
    I also bought my new sensors from Tire Rack for $42 ea. They were at the time the exact sensor Toyota uses, the Pacific brand for aluminum rims. I installed the sensors in a second set of stock rims with new snow tires. I purchased the Autel TS601. The TS601 is a multi function diagnostic OBDII scanner and capable TPMS ECU programmer for my 2018 Tacoma. Program the Tacoma ECU at each season tire swap out with no issues. I have used that scanner for checking known car tires with TPMS sensor/pressure problems for many of the neighbors cars.

    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/2019-tpms-tool-compatibility.631570/
     
    Kevin8se7en [OP] likes this.
  19. Feb 1, 2020 at 12:58 PM
    #19
    Joe671

    Joe671 YouTube Mechanic

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Member:
    #299650
    Messages:
    314
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    So it doesn't store the 2 sets of tpms in the ECU and you have to program everytime you swap them out? Discount Tire programmed my sensors for free. Was just wondering if I decided to go back to my stock wheels if the ECU would just automatically "sense" that they were on.
     
  20. Feb 1, 2020 at 5:01 PM
    #20
    Can't Blame The Dog

    Can't Blame The Dog Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Member:
    #254217
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD SPORT. 4x4 DCLB
    The ECU in my 2018 Tacoma stores only four sensors. I would assume all the Gen3 are the same. You over write the data in the ECU each time.
     
To Top