1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS in spare?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by udrunk2002, Jul 27, 2020.

  1. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:25 AM
    #21
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    Naw... turd gens only have 4 slots of memory for tpms numbers... you have to get a tpms installed in the spare and either 1.) Get a shop or dealer to program tpms locations if you rotate the spare in 2.) Buy a programmer to do it yourself (what i did) or 3.) you dont rotate your spare and be comfortable not knowing what the psi is...
     
  2. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:29 AM
    #22
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
  3. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:32 AM
    #23
    Taco_mike73

    Taco_mike73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Member:
    #311413
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    York, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 Jeep Liberty CRD, 2020 dcsb SR5 4wd Cement
    Why can't you just check the spare pressure manually? I need to look under mine which I really have yet to do in the last 2 days since I got it and see if the valve stem faces down. If it does not hard to slide under and check.
     
  4. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:38 AM
    #24
    Stocklocker

    Stocklocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Member:
    #219125
    Messages:
    8,661
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    17TRDORDCSBAT
    Some people like to do 5 tire rotations with five identical tires and 5 identical wheels. They want the spare to be easily swapped into the rotation, which it can’t be without a TPMS.
     
  5. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:47 AM
    #25
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    It can... you just will have the TPS light on.... I'm telling you guys... its EASY AF to do it yourself...
     
  6. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:50 AM
    #26
    Smacky2020

    Smacky2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Member:
    #326715
    Messages:
    113
    Southwest VA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD ORDC - Cement
    Stock wheels and suspension. Random "utilitarian" mods featured on this great forum.
    2020 Turd gens have 5 slots in memory but only 4 are utilized and registered as spare does not have a sensor. Confirmed through Techstream. You can register a 5th if you get one in your spare.
     
  7. Jul 31, 2020 at 10:54 AM
    #27
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL

    Right... It remembers the 5th. but reads 4. If you rotate the tires... the spare is not being read in the right location... need techstream or autel or dealer to "relearn"tire positions... Ive had my spare with no tpms in the front... Front tire with TPMS with only 15psi in the tire in the back underneath the truck... I road the rest of the trail with the truck thinking the front right tire was at 15... not as the front right tire at 0

    Are you saying if i have the spare registered in the ecu... it will automatically relearn positions after my rotation WITHOUT the need for a tool or software?
     
    tonered likes this.
  8. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:14 AM
    #28
    Smacky2020

    Smacky2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Member:
    #326715
    Messages:
    113
    Southwest VA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD ORDC - Cement
    Stock wheels and suspension. Random "utilitarian" mods featured on this great forum.
    I thought thats what the little under-dash button is supposed to do.
     
  9. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:17 AM
    #29
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    So you just need to get the spare "programmed" one time... that's it?

    This is huge for people rotating full size spares! Thanks! :thumbsup:

    I destroy the TPMS, so the tool made sense. I learned something new today!
     
  10. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:39 AM
    #30
    Smacky2020

    Smacky2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Member:
    #326715
    Messages:
    113
    Southwest VA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD ORDC - Cement
    Stock wheels and suspension. Random "utilitarian" mods featured on this great forum.
    Someone reading my response is probably laughing because I have no justifiable proof that it would work.

    I see 5 slots in memory, 4 occupied and the truck either knows locations or you have to program them in a sequence. All I see in TS are slots and id's.

    Per the manual, when you rotate tires you push the magic button and after some time, the truck learns pressure and I'm assuming position.

    They probably started to leave tpms out of spare since who ever checks their spare pressure (I started to after not having it inflated left me stranded). Anyway, I'm speaking in hypotheticals and out of me arse with no real world proof. If the system is smart enough or can at least reset the location after rotation then it should be possible.
     
  11. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:41 AM
    #31
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL

    My Autel TS508 asks me to scan and identify the 5th (spare) tire.. which what youre telling me makes sense.. but when I pull up the ECU memory, it ONLY shows 4 slots with TPMS sensor ID's... no 5th slot...

    Man, I was getting my hopes up for people... lol

    Dude, you know what... My sensor for the spare comes in today.. Im gonna program that bitch... relearn all tires again WITH the spare scanned.... roll around for a few miles.... switch out the spare... hit the magic in cab button and CONFIRM this thing...with the tool to confirm the ID's changed slots on their own.... sound good?
     
    JStarr, Malvolio and daveeasa like this.
  12. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:44 AM
    #32
    jmauvais

    jmauvais Received 2 votes in a poll one time.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Member:
    #199716
    Messages:
    3,569
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB
    ...stuff
    I was under the impression these Trucks only hold 4 tpms
     
    tonered likes this.
  13. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:47 AM
    #33
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL

    Me too till i got the programmer and it ASKS for the spare to get scanned... Tested it on my wifes civic.. no tpms in the spare... when i entered her car info, it omitted the spare... only asked for the 4 tires....

    But when you pull the stored tpms ID's from the computer... you only get 4 slots.... its not like it gives you 4 slots in the green and one slot in red... ya know?

    so yeah... thats where we are with this thing...
     
  14. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:48 AM
    #34
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    14,431
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    The reset button will not swap the spare into one of other four positions.

    You need to manually enter the Sensor ID. Either TS or the Carista app will do this, other than single function TPM programming tools.
     
  15. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:48 AM
    #35
    Stocklocker

    Stocklocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Member:
    #219125
    Messages:
    8,661
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    17TRDORDCSBAT
    Well, obviously the spare tire will fit on the hub without a valid TPMs.
    I felt that went without saying. Kinda defeats the value of the system to drive around with the TPS light on.
     
  16. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:49 AM
    #36
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL

    Thats how I felt it worked.. I'll confirm this tonight... i hate relying on all you savages LOL :crapstorm:
     
    Malvolio and tonered like this.
  17. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:50 AM
    #37
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    I'll admit, it was a smartass response :cheers:
     
  18. Jul 31, 2020 at 11:57 AM
    #38
    Smacky2020

    Smacky2020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Member:
    #326715
    Messages:
    113
    Southwest VA
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD ORDC - Cement
    Stock wheels and suspension. Random "utilitarian" mods featured on this great forum.
    @Smacky2020 - here's some new guy who got TS to work and now pretends to be a know-it-all. What a loser. :crazy:

    Anyway @Outdoorsy_Yota, let us know how it really works.
     
    tonered likes this.
  19. Jul 31, 2020 at 12:06 PM
    #39
    Stocklocker

    Stocklocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Member:
    #219125
    Messages:
    8,661
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    17TRDORDCSBAT
    I’m just trying to keep everyone safe with the TPMS. Lord know Safety is more important than life itself (apparently).

    Heres what happens when you do 5 tire rotation without a 5th TPMS. Dozens die every day.

     
    tonered likes this.
  20. Jul 31, 2020 at 12:36 PM
    #40
    Outdoorsy_Yota

    Outdoorsy_Yota Hella-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Member:
    #259229
    Messages:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    duhbondo JIW Local 378
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    17 DCLB TRD OR LOL
    I'm that loser lol I really wanted to get this stuff to work myself and now that i have the tool, its no biggie to experiment and learn the hard way, right? Story of my life lol
     

Products Discussed in

To Top