1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Winter Driving - When to use 4X4?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by AFZ, Dec 29, 2012.

1. Dec 29, 2012 at 1:55 PM
    AFZ

AFZ [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    IN
    Vehicle:
    4x4 AC 4.0 TRD OR
    I'll be honest, I'm still new to 4X4s, so I just want to make sure I don't blow up my transfer case.

Two schools of thought I'm being told are -

If the rear wheels will spin, put in in 4-High.

and the polar opposite -

Never use 4X4 on the road, it's to get your out of the ditch you just slid into.

Roads today are super slick - a blip of the throttle will send the rear swinging out and everyone is spinning at stop signs.

[​IMG]

2. Dec 29, 2012 at 1:58 PM
    Toyota Tacoma

Toyota Tacoma Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brady
    Kelowna, bc
    Vehicle:
    dbl cab long box